We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1156 FM 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Chuckwagon Inn for our wedding anniversary. We were not so impressed with the Bollinger Cabin. There were do many little signs all around the cabin with all type of restrictions, that we felt kind of walking on eggshells. The breakfast was not bad, i had better. Also when we arrived, I found hair all over in the bed conforter. Also Sam talks more than I can handle. He seems to be more interested in what he has to say than what other guest has to share.

I think that a good way to welcome their guest should be with homemade cookies in their cabins and they should also stack up their kitchenette with teas, cocoa etc.

This place was OK, but I would like to try other b&b in the Fredericksburg area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccabhiggins, Owner at Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear rjsyouens,
Sam and I are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Bolinger Cabin. We want all of our guests to have a pleasant experience and their views are very important to us. Sam does like to talk. Our daughter gave him an apron that says,"everyone is entitled to my opinion", and he should have had it on that morning.
Sincerely,
Sam and Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
227
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent breakfasts at this B&B! Quite possibly the best biscuits we have ever had. Friendly and very accomodating hosts, Sam and Becky, and interesting guests made our stay delightful. we stayed in Miss Becky's Kitchen, a cute little 2-story with the livingroom, kitchen areas downstairs and the bedroom, bath upstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here from February 15-17th. Once we arrived, we were greeted by Sam, a friendly face I'll never forget! He made sure to ask us if we had any food allergies for the breakfast feast that awaited us the next day. We stayed in Larry Bill's room and it was very inviting and had a rustic, country vibe. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The room also had a deck area in which you could relax and enjoy a bottle of wine. The breakfast on our first morning was most excellent. We got to visit with both Sam and Becky and our fellow guests at a large dinner table. They have traveled all over the world and we really enjoyed hearing the stories they shared. The breakfast on our 2nd day of homemade biscuits, gravy, pork sausage, frittata, and orange juice was the best breakfast I've ever had. This is a true gem and my definition of what a B&B should be like!!!

Sam and Becky are by far the most hospitable owners we've met at all of our B&B's we've stayed at and really enjoyed getting to know them. I would highly recommend staying here. We would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

When there was an opening for the Pear Tree Cottage at the Chuckwagon Inn on New Year's Eve, we took it! Call it fate, but this was exactly what we needed. A little R&R in the Texas Hill Country. The Chuckwagon Inn is only a few minutes off of Main Street in Fredericksburg and well worth the drive. Our cottage was the cutest place I've ever stayed in and everything was in theme with Pears! The room was spotless and had a fireplace that was exactly what we needed on a drizzly, cold weekend in Fredericksburg. The Christmas tree and mantel decorations added to the cozy feel. When I researched this particular B&B, I found that Sam & Becky had been featured in several Texas magazines and had written a few cookbooks, so I was excited to taste their cooking. Boy, did they deliver. You don't leave hungry, that's for sure. We really enjoyed Becky & Sam's company as well as the other couples we met at the breakfast table. They also had great recommendations for restaurants and bars if you're new to town. We will definitely stay at the Chuckwagon Inn the next time we're planning a relaxing trip to Fredericksburg!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent two nights here in Larry Bill's Chuckwagon suite. My sister in law and brother in law were in the Pear Cottage which is equally charming.The room decorations are darling,down to the mural painted on the wall. I loved that the Christmas decorations were still out for us.They added to the ambience. The room was spotless, comfortable, and has a KING sized bed. The entire dairy farm has been lovingly restored by your hosts Sam and Becky with much attention put to details. Delicious breakfasts are served in their beautifully restored stone house. It is located directly outside town and quiet. Breakfast conversations were never dull thanks to Sam. The first morning we woke up to a blanket of snow outside! You won't want to miss this one if you are going to Fredericksburg. We hope to return one day when we go that direction again. The hardest thing is choosing which beautiful room you want to stay in! Thanks Becky and Sam.

Room Tip: All rooms are charming, pick your favorite decor. Miss Becky and Larry's Chuckwagon have stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sam and Becky were excellent hosts. The food was fantastic and I loved the breakfast conversation and laughter. The accommodations were beautiful. They had the place decorated so cute.This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a quiet get-a-way. The working fire place was as extra nice addition. Thanks Sam and Becky we are ready to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at The Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast with two other couples to welcome the New Year was a weekend we wiill long remember. Traveling with friends as we do every New Years, we were pleased with our individual cabins, each spotlessly clean and decorated in charming fashion. The larger cabins had ample space for all of us to sit and visit when we were not out and about in the fun town of Fredericksburg or the surrounding area. Becky and Sam were gracious hosts, and our breakfast each morning was not only delicious but also informative as our hosts have a wealth of knowledge about the history and the people in the Fredericksburg area. Sam's breakfast pizza and Becky's sweet potato muffins with a maple syrup glaze were two of our favorite things. New Years Day breakfast included Sam's special black-eyed peas, a must to bring good luck for the new year. The holiday spirit was brought to life with the beautifully decorated living area of the Higgins' home as well as in the individual cabins. When in the Fredericksburg area, the Chuckwagon B&B is definitely the place to stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1156 FM 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.