We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1156 FM 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The Bolinger cabin was fantastic. The whole property is clean, quaint, and such a breath of fresh air. We absolutely loved Sam & Ms. Becky. Their stories, hospitality, and information were top notch. The breakfasts were fantastic! Thank you both for a great time. Ms. Becky - next time I promise to bring clean clothes!! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
224
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, OK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Becky and Sam Higgins have turned this historical homestead into a relaxing, clean, unpretentious getaway. Just what I needed to get the city off my mind, yet close to all the shopping in Fredericksburg, Trade Days, LBJ Ranch, Pacific War Museum. Becky and Sam recommended great restaurants and hot spots for music at night. We had a great time, would love to go back, loved the Mustang Bunkhouse decor and the bed was great. In our search we wanted full breakfast and kingsize bed, not too far out but not on main street either. But what sold us on their website was their friendly faces and Sam's cooking experience. You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Chuckwagon Inn. I can't wait to use my Chuckwagon Cookbook!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We absolutely love this place, the Hosts Sam and Becky are great people and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stay at the Chuck Wagon Inn every chance we get to "get away." The town is lovely, but this Bed and Breakfast is beyond compare!! The rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable!! My husband and I have a blast every time we visit because Sam and Becky are truly the best host and hostess!! Sam and Becky also have a way of making everyone feel "at home." The mouth watering breakfast are scrumptious and you won't be hungry again till dinner time!! If you love to laugh and have a good time, you need to treat yourselves to the Chuck Wagon Inn. We are ready to go again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

For my wife and I, the true experiences of a bed and breakfast are the hosts, and interacting with the other guests. During our stay at the Chuckwagon Inn, we happened to be the only guests, so we missed that part...but our hosts certainly did not disappoint. We stayed in the Bolinger Cabin, which was quite comfortable; and the big country breakfasts served up by Sam and Becky were awesome. Maybe the best part though, were Sam and Becky themselves...the conversations each morning, with plenty of tips on all that the area has to offer - including awesome restaurants; and the stories told in the afternoons sitting with Sam at his cantina; made our stay a real joy. Should we ever visit Fredericksburg again, you can bet we will be giving them a call.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Peace, Comfort, Historical and Downright friendly!----Everything I was looking for an April 1st Birthday weekend. Spent 4days 3nights and needed more..The city just melted away each and every morning we rose. Our room was tip top that included homemade breakfast each and every morning. Our day trips into town took only a few minutes no hussle bussell here! Evening happy hour at the "cantina" should you choose included warm and friendly company, easy conversation and lots of good down home laughter. ....can't wait to return. Even paco and Elvis played their part in entertainment...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was a great stay... Sam and Becky ( the owners) made us feel so welcome. Crazy Sam told some great stories. The room was clean and comfortable. It was just outside of town which we loved. The town is a great place to go. We are already trig to plan our next visit!! Thanks Sam and Becky for making our anniversary wonderful! See you soon.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1156 FM 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.