We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grill

Sunset Grill
902 S. Adams Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
+1 830-997-5904
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Grill, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This cheery cafe and grill has french toast with carmelized bananas that is out of this world! Definite must-try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    70
    25
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Tried this restaurant for the first time for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. No German fare here, but salads, interesting burgers and entrees one would more likely find in Corpus or Galveston restaurants. We had fish tacos, mahi burger and a sandwich/salad combo. All seemed prepared from fresh ingredients and were very tasty. Entrées are generous; burgers and sandwiches are huge so the prices did not seem out of line (the tab for three was $47 including tax & tip.) Pleasant atmosphere and quite good service. We will definitely go back, hopefully for breakfast next time since we had heard that's what they do best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The front desk manager at our hotel recommended Sunset Grill for breakfast one morning while we were in Fredericksburg. He did us a favor. This is an excellent place for breakfast. It is off the main drag on South Adams Street. We all had something different and each entree was quite good. The service was very good and the manager came around making sure all our food had come out the way we wanted it. None of us had anything fancy, just egg dishes, but all were delicious. Next time we are in Fredericksburg, we'll head back to Sunset Grill for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Decent food, but not sure it was worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The food at this restaurant was hit-or-miss. My eggs Benedict had a weird tangy taste, but my daughters French toast was actually some of the best I've had. The service was ok....not great, but not bad either. I didn't think it was worth the price (almost $90 with tip, for 5 people).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great find off the main drag in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Very good salads. Special today was a Caesar salmon salad. Excellent. One choice of soup was cream of mushroom and this too was great. Disappointed this restaurant does not serve dessert. Will definitely go back next time we visit Fredricksburg.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.