We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion at Rock House Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock House Hideaway

Rock House Hideaway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rock House Hideaway to your Saves list
Rock House Hideaway
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   154 Wilhelm Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Reunion at Rock House Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our extended family has been visiting Fredericksburg for many years. We have an annual reunion there. We've stayed at a number of different guest houses over time, but this one has provided the best lodging experience so far. We stayed at Rock House Hideaway June 12th-15th, 2014. Our group this year had 8 adults and 5 children, so we rented the whole place including the guest house. Collectively, there are 5 bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms. The owner also provided two, twin-sized portable beds which fit nicely in the living area of the guest house and made a great place for all the cousins to sleep together. They LOVED it. It was delightful to be able to stay all together under one roof, sharing two kitchens and living spaces as well as several porches and acres of beautiful grounds. Check in was super easy and everyone found a comfortable place to sleep, including parents with toddlers. We cooked in the kitchen, grilled out back, lounged and played on the porches, and picnicked under the trees. The kids caught fireflies at night and even saw a wild turkey from the back porch! I agree with another poster that the entrance road isn't the easiest to spot, especially at night, but they have added a sign by the road and the owner gave us a 'heads up' about how to find it. After the first time, finding it wasn't difficult, especially since you can look for the sign and the windmill near the road. We loved how old the farmhouse is, yet it has all the comforts and modern amenities of home including Wi-Fi, two flat-screened TV's, DVD players, cable, top-of-the-line appliances in the fully-stocked main kitchen, washers and dryers and comfortable beds. We were also delighted to see that the owner is nearly finished restoring the 1911 Pump House (I think it was) in the back for more guests. That's good news for our ever-growing family because we definitely want to go back. My one and only complaint would be that some of the locks in the guest house (including the bathroom doors) do not function. This was a slight problem for privacy, but we worked it out. Hopefully, they'll be fixed by next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at Rock House Hideaway 06/06/2014 through 06/08/2014. There was a total of 10 guests. The home was perfect! We rented the entire house which contained 5 bedrooms and 21/2 bathrooms. 1 bedroom had bunk beds and was very small. But, the house overall was lovely. The Viking appliances were definitely a plus. The house had everything you needed from coffee, coffee filters, cooking utensils, pots and pans. The house was extremely clean. We even had a bottle of wine waiting for us as we arrived. Our weekend was peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and a group of gifriends stayed here over a weekend for a bachelorette party, and could not have asked for a better atmosphere! We had 9 girls and all slept comfortably. The home is so lovely, straight out of a magazine! The owner is so friendly, I called him with a quick question and enjoyed his approachability.
We brought our own food and crockpot. He had coffee there for us, and 2 bottles of wine and a personalized note when I arrived! The ac was turned down low so it was cool. We felt at home all weekend and really enjoyed sitting on the porch drinking coffee in the morning. Thank you thank you for sharing your beautiful home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were a party of 4 friends who wanted to escape Dallas for a few days. We rented the main house for a five night stay. The house was perfect for our getaway. It is close to town, but far enough to not be in town. The house is well maintained and comfortable for a group of four. Much more than that and the seating in the living room would be tight. I could have stayed there all summer!
My only complaint is the lack of wifi. We pretty much had our days planned out before we came, but we did make a few adjustments. Would have been nice to be able to look things up online. If you are here for a longer stay and want to do laundry, the washing machine is only accessible in the guest house. Other than that, this was a wonderful place to visit with friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My extended family and I spent a wonderful long weekend in Fredericksburg. The rockhouse was beautifully furnished and relaxing. Gourmet kitchen and outdoor grill was great for cooking meals at home and enjoying the countryside.
Its amazing as much cooler it is in the hill country in the summer than in Dallas! We also loved the new shower upstairs! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family retreated to Rock House Hideaway after our son's wedding and found the perfect combination of feeling out and away, yet only minutes from the incredible shops, restaurants and vineyards of Fredericksburg. The porches and rockers welcomed us to relax and sip the wine that was waiting for us while enjoying the acres of rolling hills and singing birds. The home is beautifully decorated with an upscale, cozy feel that reminds you of being at grandmas...only fresh & new. It could not have been a more perfect place to relax and relish the precious family memories we had just made at the wedding!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very wonderful place just outside of town! Beautiful home and land! We will be back! Clean and had a bottle of wine waiting on us, we just stayed in the home one evening and got take out for supper and enjoyed the balconies and sunset,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock House Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hideaway

Address: 154 Wilhelm Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock House Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockhouse Hideaway sits on 20 emerald acres. You will feel as if you are secluded deep in the Hill Country, when in fact, you are only a two-minute drive to all the downtown action. The home offers two suites, the Guest House (a perfect romantic getaway for two) or the main house (a three-bedroom, two-story unit complete with full kitchen, private balconies, HD satellite TV and more). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rock House Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock House Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.