We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to DT Fredericksburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Inn & Cottages
1644 W. US Hwy 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 79 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location close to DT Fredericksburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Convenient location and good value with a Texas atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    74
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
117
200
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

My wife found this place online when booking a Memorial Day Weekend trip to Fredericksburg, and we are both very glad she did. We stayed in Cabin 14 and fell in love with it the moment we were at the gate. Only a few miles outside of town, it was so peaceful that you would have thought we were miles away from everywhere. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone and we look forward to our next stay here ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed in cabin 22 for (4) nightsfe for our 15th wedding anniversary. Cabin was clean and comfy. Slept great in the king size bed. Quite and in the country, but close to town. Just what we wanted. Lots of wildlife right at our back door. We trailored our bike and rode the Three Sisters also. We had an awesome stay. We met Jeff and Amy and they are both great people. You'll love this place

Room Tip: The cottages are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011 via mobile

This is the place we stay when we go to Fredericksburg. We have stayed in several of the cabins and all of them are welcoming and peaceful. In some of them,the floors are even heated! The hotel is on the outskirts of town and the cabins are out of the way, but every time we stayed, it was a very peaceful experience. Even with the annual reunions, we were never bothered or felt out of place. The staff members are very polite and helpful. They are transparent, only popping up IF there is an issue that needs their attention. Waking up early or coming in late at night,you WILL see deer and other animals! This is one of the nicer places that I have ever stayed and has become an annual tradition of sorts.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We had a great time at The Country Inn & Cottages-we stayed in Cottages 15 & 16. Loved the decor and the beautiful, peacefulness of the outside.
Great place to go back to after doing wine tours. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Great getaway!!! The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. We will be staying there again. The men loved the elk and deer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We decided to do a last minute trip Feb 11-13th and were lucky to find a cottage open at Country Inn. We were not able to get a standalone cottage (you probably have to book those much further in advance) but I had read the website and reviews saying the other cottages were attached so I was not surprised when I got there (like other guests seem to have been). My husband and I did not have any problem with management, they were very sweet any time we had to deal with them. I absolutely loved all of the Axis deer and Elk running around the area. That was really fun! I also love that you can bring your dogs. Our little Westie had a great time smelling around. We stayed in Cabin #14 and it was adorable. My only complaint is that we found womens lingerie stuck in the crease of the couch (kind of gross). We moved it and left a note for the maids to tell them that we found this and it was not ours, however when we came back that evening the room was clean and the note and lingerie was still there. This raises doubts about the quality of cleaning, but this is my only complaint. Other than that, we absolutely loved our stay and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We have stayed here 3 times over the past 2 years, each time for a weekend stay and we love this place!! We stay at the cottages, which are outside of town (only a few miles) on a Wild Elk ranch. My kids (4,5 and 8) LOVE this place with the elk, deer and cattle they get to see, as well as the exploring they do outside. The cottages are a variety of stand-alone cottages, converted houses and dogtrot cottages, which means they are connected. They are very nicely decorated inside and the beds are SUPER comfy. They have had so many people ask about their mattresses, that you can buy one wholesale from them!

The ranch has a gate with entry code, so even though we are outside of town, we feel very safe. The stay always comes with breakfast vouchers to use at some of the area bakeries/restaurants, one of which is Rather Sweet Bakery, which is owned by the famous bakery chef, Rebecca Rather. They make the most amazing pastries and desserts!!

There are gathering areas all around the ranch with chairs, fire pits and grills. The owners always make sure that the lights and heat (or air) is on in the cottage when you arrive and all the rooms that we've stayed in have satellite tv, a microwave, fridge and coffee pot.

I am surprised by some of the negative comments about the management. The owners have alwtays been super friendly. The cancellation policy is not that unusual in Fredericksburg and many of the B&Bs and cottages have extra rules that you don't get in a commercial hotel (2 night stay minimum, no kids, no dogs, etc), so I guess i am used to that when we stay here.

Overall, this is a great rustic place with beautiful views and nice decor. Perfect for a family!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Cottages

Address: 1644 W. US Hwy 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel located 1 mile from downtown, cottages 4.3 miles from downtown, pet friendly, pool, jacuzzi tubs, motel offers 21 units, cottages offer 22 units, group rates, weddings and reunions, cottages on 200 acre ranch w/ wildlife including elk, deer, turkey and peacock. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Cottages to your Saves list