We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, pristine, modern little home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roadrunner Inn

The Roadrunner Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roadrunner Inn
Save
You added The Roadrunner Inn to your Saves list
306 B East Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly located, pristine, modern little home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this clean and comfy twist on a B&B. Keurig coffee maker with provided k cups of coffee, tea, sweeteners and powdered coffee mate, mini fridge & spa tub make it feel more like home than a hotel. Room 2 overlooks the next door beer garden, but the music was good, not invasive and only really noticed in the bathroom. It didn't effect our ability to rest comfortably. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were soft and cozy. I'd definitely recommend and would gladly return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I travel a lot for work, and stay at the same hotels all the time, the regular chains, that host road warriors day after day. It's always nice to come to a place that feels like home.

I feel 100% like that when I come to Fredericksburg, and stay at The Road Runner. I try to get the same room every time, which is room 3. I have to say the pics on this site are old. I just stayed there on 7/10 and 2 times before, and the rooms have been re decorated. They looked amazing before, but they look even better now.

When you check in you get a coupon for a free breakfast at one of 3 places in this adorable little town. The room comes with free internet, huge TV with many channels, and an amazing bathroom. The beds suck you in and you do not want to get up in the morning, even though you have to,

Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms, and all are lovely. I always ask for room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doniphan, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We absolutely loved this B&B, with one complaint. The breakfast coupons were EXTREMELY chintzy. We spent almost $200 a night & got $12 coupons??? Give me a break! The only place they were good was Mahaley's Cafe. The $12 would only cover a miniscule breakfast taco & a glass of orange juice. A recommendation to the owners: either reduce your nightly rates or be more generous with your breakfast coupons!!!
The room was spacious & clean. I had a hard time getting out of the comfortable bed. The large flat screen TV was nice, as was the Keurig coffeemaker. They did not stock the coffee or condiments though, and they do NOT have housekeeping so I had to call to request more. IMO, they should have had this restocked before we ever arrived.
We could hear the music next door at Silver Creek & enjoyed it so much that we opened the window to hear it better!
I doubt if we will return to Fredericksburg, which is sad because we were married there, however, on this visit we experienced extreme snobbery by some of the locals & shop owners. It left a bad taste in my mouth towards the entire town. A lot of the shop owners honestly could care less if you spent your money there or not. Well, they've lost my business. Besides, everything is overpriced. Fredericksburg, in a nutshell, is a TOURIST TRAP.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Roadrunner Inn is a small three room hotel located right on the main street in Fredericksburg. We stay here two or three times a year. The Inn is located above two shops with a private entrance between them. This isn't your typical B&B as there is no common area, owners are not on site and no breakfast served- usually the reservation service provides you with coupons to get breakfast at local shops. The rooms are great size- sleeping 2 adults easily and they will provide a roll out bed for a small fee if you have more than 2 people. All three rooms are furnished in a retro-chic mid-century modern feel. The bathrooms are good size with jacuzzi tubs. Room 1 has a small patio-balcony off the back which views the back of the bar next door and the Nimitz Pacific War Museum.

If you are wanting peace and quiet to relax, you might consider a place off of the Main Street. The RoadRunner is next door to SilverCreek which has live music most weekends and the bands in the back sometimes play until 12 or later. The "quieter" room is Room #3 on the opposite side of the building. I place "quieter" in quotes, because on a nice day, you will be awake early from motorcycles getting out for their morning rides in the hill country.

If you are wanting a spot in town that is close to everything - you can't beat it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

You are right in the heart of Fredericksburg. Essentially a loft apartment. Not your typical B&B in that there's no common area, nothing prepared for you. Loved the music next door, but not sure I liked listening to it at 1 AM.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

What an absolute find. We were ready to move in the moment we entered. We stayed in the largest of the rooms with our 12 year old daughter on a roll out bed and we were all incredibly comfortable. Beautifully furnished with amazing retro furniture mixed with gorgeous artworks. Owners obviously have taken a lot of time and effort to make this property a work of art in itself. We wanted to own nearly everything in our room. Loved the thick, fluffy towels. Wonderful amenities. We almost didn't want to leave the room to explore Frederickburg and the surrounding towns. The vouchers for breakfast are a great idea and were perfect for our needs. We ate in both nights - take away food - as we loved the room so much. We had been a little concerned at the reviews suggesting the room was noisy because of the beer garden/restaurant next door. Yes, we could still hear some noise from some fairly woeful country music and voices at around 12 midnight on one evening, but the windows and doors are well sealed/double glazed and the noise was muffled and wasn't a problem for us. I can imagine it might be noisier on a weekend night but again, I think the double glazing would deaden the noise enough. Don't let it put you off as this is one of the most comfortable and appealing places I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a side room away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The room was wonderful: hip, mid-century modern, spacious and clean. However, the building sits next to a beer garden and cafe. Music played and voices were heard until 2 a.m. every night until the owner fired up his Harley Davidson and thundered off into the night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roadrunner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roadrunner Inn

Address: 306 B East Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 37

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roadrunner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.