We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy and Ambience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
104 Settlers Crossing Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
San Marcos, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Privacy and Ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

My husband and I also stayed in the Bohl cabin and loved everything about our weekend there. We loved the privacy--we never saw or spoke to another person the whole time we were on the property--and that was just what we were looking for in our getaway. The cabin was just as the previous guest described--it was historic and rustic, decorated with antiques, yet modern enough to be very comfortable. We loved the jacuzzi tub and the delicious breakfast pastries. As another guest mentioned, the sofa in the living area is very small and uncomfortable, and the TV is super-small. But if you are like us, and only interested in a private, romantic getaway, those things probably won't matter much. You will want to spend your days and nights in the upstairs bedrooms which are comfortable and cozy and look out into the treetops. You will pay almost this much ($200/nt) for just a little room at most places--here you get a home, a yard, a trip back in time, and privacy!

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — Tiny sofa and TV
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    15
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
50
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mission tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

For our 13th Wedding Anniversary, my Husband and I stayed in the Bohl Cabin. From the moment we walked in, we were in love with everything. It was everything we expected and more.
We went for a weekend and wished for a few more extra days.
Because it was Christmas time, the cabin was decorated inside and out and we even had a Christmas tree too! How cool is that?!
Yes, the cabin is small, the bathroom is right next to the kitchen, and the stairs are steep but this is a restored cabin from the 1800's. That is what a typical home was like back then! You have to reaaaallly love the person/persons you are staying with, in this cabin!
We knew what we wanted and what we were getting when we booked this cabin. It's a cabin in the woods, not a luxury hotel!
Your stay at Settler's Crossing is not for the ultimate in comfort, it is for the ultimate experience and the chance to live the life of a pioneer without having to use an outhouse.
We were quite amazed they were able to update the cabin so well with modern conveniences.
A basket of delicious baked goodies was brought to the cabin each evening. They always seemed to know when we were gone and slipped in the cabin like Santa Claus, and left our treats.
The refrig. was stocked with juices, fresh milk, coffee, jelly, and butter. There was a wide variety of cereals and a basket full of cocoa, tea, popcorn, and instant oatmeal.
Plenty of towels, shampoo, soaps, etc. Everything you would have in your own home.
The only thing we looked for but they didn't have were ziplock bags to take home our leftover baked goodies that were so delicious!!!
Our one and only complaint was the seating in the livingroom. It was not very comfy for us to settle in and watch TV. So, we did what any good pioneer would do, we made a bed on the floor, in front of a warm fire and watched a good movie.
Both mornings we woke up early and took a walk on the grounds.
We visited the donkey, and the sheep. We watched the deer run and yes, that little red birdie would tap tap tap on the bedroom window, both mornings!
We know Bohl Cabin is a home away from home to many many people. But to us, it is "our" special place. We just left yesterday and we already want to go back with our 2 young Daughters and share the experience all over again, with them.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — No Ziplock bags. lol
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

For the high ended price:
Plenty of insects in the place,
Some bread and cereal for breakfast,
Signs telling you to clean up after yourself,
A bathroom directly opening to the kitchen (toilet first) with NO lock on the door,
No shower curtain on a tub with no way to bath but with a hand held shower head,
Outdoors were thick with mosquitoes,
You can hear every step you, and anyone else staying there, takes,
Rain water coming down the fireplace,

  • Liked — The porch
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Settler's Crossing was better than we had expected. The Indiana House was adorable. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. We LOVED the fact that we never saw the owners. I'm sure they're lovely people but we wanted a nice, quiet, relaxing getaway and that's what we got. We didn't mind spending the $200/night one bit. The ambiance/peace of mind was worth it. The location couldn't have been better, either. Close to wineries, Luckenbach, Enchanted Rock, Fredericksburg, and wildflowers galore. We'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — The ambiance
  • Disliked — Spiders.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

We stayed in the Bohl Cabin for one night. My five year old daughter loved the cabin. She thought the smokehouse, outhouse (they do have indoor plumbing), and grazing sheep and donkey's were fantastic. She still talks about being awakened by a bird tapping on her window.

It is a slightly small place; but has two bedrooms upstairs. The stairs are steep and narrow, so older people and small children may have some difficulty navigating. This is especially true at night since the bathroom is downstairs.

We loved the quiet, solitude, and rustic beauty of the home. It was also a great opportunity to discuss what life was like in the 1850's when the cabin was built. This was really necessary after our daughter was dumbfounded that there was not a remote control for the TV. We would definitely stay here again; but would probably go for one of the larger homes on-site.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 10th anniversary in a special way but we only had a few days off. We both love the Hill Country so I started looking for a nice Bed and Breakfast but still wanted some privacy. I stumbled upon Settler's Crossing on the internet.
I expected it to be nice but was not prepared for what awaited us! It was all we expected and more!
It was beautifully decorated in antiques befitting the era of the cottage. We did not have to run to store and pick up anything. Everything we could possibly want was there waiting for us!
We were able to enjoy the fireplace because it was quite cool at night. The animals were such a treat to see! I especially enjoyed Buster (the donkey)! He and some sheep came by to visit us on evening.
I highly recommend this to any couple looking to get away from the pressures of everyday life! We will remember this for the rest of our lives!

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

Like previous comments, we never saw the owners, and just received email confirmation and instructions from Judy. However, they readily responded to email enquiries and were always friendly and informative. We didn't mind that, as we just had to go straight to your cabin - enjoy our stay - then pack up and leave when our visit was over.

We traveled with our children, two girls of 15 and 13 respectively. All of us (my wife, children and myself) loved the wonderful pioneer ambience of the cabin and the sense of seclusion the cabin offered us.

It will definately be our choice if we happen to be in Fredericksburg again.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Settlers Crossing Road, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and Breakfast offers guest houses with history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settlers Crossing Hotel Fredericksburg
Settlers Crossing b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.