We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fish tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahaleys Cafe

Mahaleys Cafe
341 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4611
830-997-4400
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 115 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast
texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We ate here on a Friday. The food was really good. The fish tacos were delicious. My husband had a chicken salad sandwich that he said was very good. The size of the servings was very ample. We will eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    51
    32
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a little café on main street. Service was good, but it was just an average place to have breakfast in my opinion.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stopped for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious breakfast on the outdoor patio. The weather was nice and the street was a little noisy, but we enjoyed breakfast. Later we stopped by the bakery and had a nice snack. The service was a little slow, but we will be back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped for lunch here because it was such a nice day that we wanted to eat outside. Mistake!! This outdoor cafe was so noisy you could barely hear yourself talk due to the many trucks that pass right by. The chicken lime salad sandwich had no taste of lime and worst of all was the tough chicken. Even the bread was dry. The chips come in a bag and they use frozen French fries. I will say the bacon on the blt sandwich was good, though. All in all, we would not go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here on our way into town, right around 11am. They had a few breakfast pastries left so we started with a bacon scone and then ordered lunch. I had the avocado bacon cheeseburger and he had the chicken enchiladas. The food was delicious and you could tell it was fresh. Our server was very nice and helpful. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahaleys Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mahaleys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahaleys Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.