We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing place, but great food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mahaleys Cafe

Mahaleys Cafe
341 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4611
830-997-4400
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 113 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Confusing place, but great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Fourth of July weekend in Fredericksburg, TX was a little crazy this weekend so I assumed every eating establishment would be packed. I have been to Mahaleys before and loved it, but this visit was different! Wasn't the same old place that I remember.. You now have to go to a whole other establishment just to eat inside and it's a bit confusing. The food is worth it, but the food took FOREVER. Almost 30 minutes for a couple of tacos! I'll come back again, but they definitely need to step it up!

Also, they were out if cinnamon rolls, which was the main reason I went. :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    45
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bogart, Georgia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Right in town, good sandwiches, outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Right across from the Nimitz Museum in the heart of Fredericksburg. All seating is outdoor, menu is mostly for quick sandwich type lunches. I had a chicken salad and my buddy had a Philly cheese steak...both very good. It's perfect for a good, fairly light meal in the midst of walking the block of shops and tourist delights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Eat in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

When I was assigned on a project in town this was our favorite place to get our breakfast Tacos. Also the lunch specials that they have during the week were perfect my favorite being the Lasagna. It is a must try. As for dinner I would recommend the wonderful rib eye. It has just the right amount of garlic added to it I never needed any steak sauce with my steaks here. We also enjoyed the calamari. If you are in Fredericksburg this is a wonderful place to eat. Sharon and her husband always made us feel like we were locals when we were in. If my husband and I get back that way, we will be stopping again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast twice here during our weekend stay. Even though the location wasn't included in our B&B stay, the location and quality made it worth the cost.

The pastries were excellent, but the breakfast tacos were the best. Great taste, appropriate size.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Popular Breakfast Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I ordered an omelet which was pretty good but was sorta pricey. The service was friendly but a bit slow. I tried a pastry/desert item (not sure what it was called) that was crumbly and sweet but dry as the dessert. I did not try the breakfast tacos but they looked pretty good and were fairly large.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahaleys Cafe also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Mahaleys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahaleys Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.