We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clear River Pecan Bakery, Sandwiches and Ice Cream

Clear River Pecan Bakery, Sandwiches and Ice Cream
138 E. Main, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
830.997.8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Fredericksburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Yummy food - it's all good! Delicious sandwiches and great ice cream and ices. This is a favorite meeting place for many - especially the young at heart. Baked goods are delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    47
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced Ice Cream with SURLY service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Went here today, 1/2/12. Ice cream was good, but $6.50 for two small scoops? It's not that good.

But the reason I definitely won't be back is the terrible service. Girl at the counter was apparently in a race we didn't know about and was extremely put out that we took 30 seconds to choose a flavor.

Why give your money to people who are so rude in the taking? Pass...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Get the crocodile bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

This place was great for ice cream and baked goods. The sandwiches were ok, but it's fairly cheap compared to other main street eateries. The soups were very tasty though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, NM
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a break on Main St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stopped for a cup of coffee and sandwich one day, coffee and pastry the next. Staff is friendly and helpful, good selection of coffees (self serve).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it use to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Well I live in Austin with my family, I wanted to take my little four year old to Fredericksburg to enjoy a little bit of what me and my wife had enjoyed in 2003-2006, when we walked in nothing really had changed packed with people and expensive as usual this was expected. I ordered an Ice Cream cone with only one scoop then I saw it, the chinzy of chinzy, they weighed my Ice cream cone to make sure they took inventory of how much they were filling it, or charging me by the ounce, I dont know I didnt ask, but if some can tell me it will put my mind at ease. I also bought a cherry turnover but either I've gotten bigger or the turnovers have gotten smaller either way the price stayed the same and the turnovers are way smaller. I think they have turnedover to a new owner who takes proportionalizing to the extreme. I hope you all change this, stop the measuring, and the small portions even the cheesecake slice was smaller than back in the early 2000's has this place turnedover to a new owner or management? Im not sure I will be back, I want the portions to increase to meet the price, or lower the price to meet the small portions. Very disappointed you have lost a very loyal family.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear River Pecan Bakery, Sandwiches and Ice Cream also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Clear River Pecan Bakery, Sandwiches and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear River Pecan Bakery, Sandwiches and Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.