We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so close...yet so far” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Diner

Airport Diner
155 Airport Rd., Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7673
+1 830-997-4999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 113 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“so close...yet so far”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can't review, as I never got to actually eat there. We went at lunch time on a Sunday based on others' recommendations. Big mistake. It's tiny, there were six of us and it's on a "first-come" basis. So they seated the couple who was in line before us at the only six-topper. It would have been an hour wait for that one table and otherwise we would have been scattered about as other tables became available. So we gave up and went elsewhere. Let this be a warning to others - go early, particularly if there are more than two of you!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a really fun location with excellent food. Love the breakfast! It fills up fast so come early.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuero, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Love the atmosphere ..the food was not real good but not terrible.
Based only on breakfast. I think it must be better at times because people flew their small planes in to eat reakfast

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lunch was great and the view of personnel airplanes was a plus. Wait staff was courteous and attentive. Had the special open chicken sandwich with seasoned fries and tea. It included desert-peach cobbler with ice cream--what a treat !!! Wife had a chicken wrap which she enjoyed. We returned the next day with family for an outstanding breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great View- why couldn't the food be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Food was mediocre at the very best, although sitting on the airport runway was cool. Their menu is mostly sandwiches, so you would think they would be great...the reuben was soggy, tasteless and utterly undistinguished.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airport Diner also viewed

 

Been to Airport Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.