We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Altdorf German Biergarten and Restaurant

Altdorf German Biergarten and Restaurant
301 West Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
830-997-7865
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 113 restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Fredericksburg, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Sauerkraut tasted like it came right out of a can. The red cabbage was bitter. I had the smoked pork chops which were under cooked and had no flavor. My wife had the Jager Schnitzel which was bland and also had the low grade sauerkraut and bitter cabbage. We didn't finish 80% of our meals because the food was terrible. We noticed that couples at 2 nearby tables also left the majority of their food on their plates when they left. I will never go back to this restaurant again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    40
    62
    25
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Killeen Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint, Authentic, and Historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Because we are from an historical city in Pennsylvania and have lived and traveled worldwide in the military, we are attracted to a variety of national cuisines, especially German fare. Throughout the year, we frequently enjoy the ride to Fredericksburg, TX and have had the opportunity to eat in snd compare many of the restaurants in the area, but we always go to Altdorf's for "our" kind of various German foods, seasoned just right- - - especially the German potato salad - - -and served with good, cold beer. There are also other available dishes: the usual American and even TexMex choices, but we favor German. Old-fashioned, home-baked desserts are served, and excellent coffee as well, if one has room! The inside seating space is in an old, German settlers house on Haupstrasse, and, and the biergarten is in an established, shady area, with market umbrellas, at the side of the house. If I lived in Fredericksburg, I would spend many hours at Altdorf's!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sit in the beer garden or inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Altdorf has an extensive menu, German, American or Mexican food. it is one of my favorite places and the have the best frys in town.They also serve beer and wine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great German Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our weekend trip. The Jäger Schnitzel was great, the Sangria even better. The portion sizes are big so make sure you are hungry. Our waiter was very helpful and friendly. The had a good selection of German beers as well. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great German food, super fast and friendly service. This is one restaurant that we will definitely return to!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altdorf German Biergarten and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Altdorf German Biergarten and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altdorf German Biergarten and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.