We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not that good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fredericksburg Brewing Co.

Fredericksburg Brewing Co.
245 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4114
+1 830-997-1646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 115 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Dallas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food not that good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice brewery with lots of beer. Very crowded although we got a table right away. Waitstaff friendly but the food not that great. I got a jäger schnitzel, it was very, very dry even with the gravy on it. Was also only about 1/8" thick or rather thin!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    197
    115
    49
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good beer, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Recently had dinner on a Saturday night. After a 40 minute wait, we were seated in the noisy dining room. Sausage sampler plate was good, but the sides (kraut and German potato salad) were bland. Craft beer is the highlight of the evening.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food as well as beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have eaten here several times in the past few years and and found the food to be very good and consistent. We enjoyed the Rueben sandwich this time and it was delicious. All the beers need to be sampled, as they are all very tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“friend recommend to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food was great!! Loved the atmosphere! The chicken fried chicken was awesome. I think the best part for me was the german chocolate cheesecake that I almost didn't get because someone said I wouldn't like it(so he wouldn't have to share)lol.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest in Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great beer! Helpful servers! Fast service! GREAT FOOD! Food was so good! Had Brew Stew
Mouth watering pork stew made with our Award Winning Enchanted Rock Red Ale and served over seasoned mashed potatoes. $9.99 - Bratwurst and sauerkraut on toasted hoagie smothered in Swiss cheese. Served with your choice of one side. $8.99 - Best Reuben in Town
¼ lb corned beef, sauerkraut and Swiss cheese on pumpernickel bread. Served with our famous Russian dressing and your choice of one side. $9.99 - we each had a different side and shared. I loved the onion rings. Really reasonable, very large portions, and fast service. They had many varieties of beer and would pour them in a "to go" cup. WILL GO BACK!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredericksburg Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Fredericksburg Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fredericksburg Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.