We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enchanted Rock State Natural Area

Enchanted Rock State Natural Area
16710 Ranch Rd. 965, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
(830) 685-3636
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Educational Sites, Mysterious Sites, Geologic Formations, Parks, State Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Birdwatching, Rock climbing, Backpacking, Camping, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enormous pink rock dome that rises 325 feet above a small stream.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It was fun but a little tiring and the wind is stringer at the top so wear a coat or you will freeze if its like when we went! It was warm when we started, hot from hiking when we arrived at the top and cold by sunset when we went back down! A local told us when we arrived at the bottom again...one thing you can count on with weather in the Hill Country...its going to change! But still fun!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    148
    26
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It takes your breathe away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are visiting Fredericksburg Tx a must to see is Enchanted Rock State park. It is such an awesome and yet challenging place to be. I decided to make the hike to the top with a friend of mine, but he didn't make it. The hike is especially challenging because of the steepness but most of all because of the elevation which is 1825 ft up. The air is much thinner than what I am used to, but I was determined. It took quite a while to hike it up, but once you get to the top your jaw drops at the most spectacular sight in your life. Miles and miles of beauty. You must see it to believe it. Don't forget your camera and water and good gym shoes. Good luck with the climb and trust me, you won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit to enchanted rock. The kids really enjoyed their time here and so did we. Amazing views!! Once you make it to the top, you will be amazed by the views. Definitely worth the trip and money!! Nice picnic sites and restrooms! Their is also a cave that is neat, but not recommended if you have small children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding state natural area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've been here many times, and always love it. This is the second largest granite outcropping in the U.S., behind Stone Mountain near Atlanta, Georgia. If it's a weekend or holiday, the park can get quite crowded, so arrive as early as possible. There are two options for overnight camping: walk-in camping sites, and backcountry primitive sites. The walk-in sites are about 50 to 100 yards from the parking lot. These sites have a fire ring where you can build a campfire (bring your own firewood, or you can buy it from the park), a picnic table with a roof over it, and water spigots nearby. Rest rooms with flush toilets and showers are adjacent to the parking lot. The primitive backpacking sites are a hike of 2 to 4 miles; there is no water available, so one must carry in all needed water. Ground fires (campfires) are not allowed in these sites; only backpacking stoves for cooking. There are composting toilets scattered in several locations in the backcountry near the primitive sites.

The park is well-run, and clean. The hike up to the summit of Enchanted Rock (about 1800' elevation) takes about a half-hour, and should only be attempted by those good mobility. The view from the top is spectacular, don't miss it! There are also other trails throughout the park, most notably the Loop Trail that goes all the way around the perimeter of the park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Better have your walking legs ready”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a spectacular monolith arising from the gentle hill country. The climb to the top is quite steep and not for those with limited mobility for any reason. There are other trails that go around the mountain but then you miss the great views from the top as described by those of our group who made it. Even those of us who went 3/4 of the way had great views of the surrounding area. The rock absorbs and radiates heat so it is best to go in the morning or on a cool day as we did. On busy days, the rangers close the park if there are too many visitors, so check for that before you make the trek to the park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchanted Rock State Natural Area also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Enchanted Rock State Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchanted Rock State Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.