We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of the Pacific War

National Museum of the Pacific War
340 East Main Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
+1 830-997-8600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formerly the Nimitz Museum, the complex is now America's only museum centered on World War II's Pacific campaign. Since 1968, the Museum has expanded to occupy a six-acre campus and gained a reputation as one of the premier military museums in the nation. Over the years the Museum was upgraded and enlarged, and the campus grew to accommodate the Memorial Courtyard, the Plaza of Presidents and the Japanese Garden of Peace. We opened the expanded George H. W. Bush Gallery in 2009. The Gallery's state-of-the-art 33,000 square foot exhibition features 40 media installations, approximately 900 artifacts in 97 climate-controlled cases, 15 macro-artifacts, and hundreds of photographs. Two blocks east of the main campus is the Pacific Combat Zone for guided tours of macro-artifacts and regularly scheduled combat re-enactments.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a first class museum of the sort you'd expect to see in D.C. I only thought I knew my World War II history. Very thorough explanations of the politics and history leading up to the war and play-by-play of events during the war.

Tickets are good for 2 days and allow access to the Nimitz Hotel and a Pacific War reenactment area. Just be aware: the Pacific War museum alone took me nearly 5 hours to get through. Granted I'm extremely interested in WWII history and took the time to read everything presented. On 100+ degree Texas day the 5 hours in a/c was enjoyed.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    79
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long beach
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

don't pass this museum up if your ever in Fredericksburg...a wonderful museum to visit with so many interesting exhibits. Well layed out...a terrific tribute to the brave men and women of the war in the pacific.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hill country must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Amazing museum!! Very much worth your time and money. It takes more than a few hours to go thru everything. Take your time. Went with a 14 and 10 year old and they are still talking about what they saw.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
121 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum and tribute to WW2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The National Museum of the Pacific war is a world-class state of the art museum in downtown Fredericksburg. It is well worth a day trip from the Austin/San Antonio area, and you may need to take an additional day (the ticket is good for 48 hrs-$12 adults, $6 kids, WW2 vets free). Our family of six had the privilege of experiencing a very moving Memorial day service, with a 21 gun salute for three fallen local service members. In addition to the museum, each month there are WW2 reenactments of the battle of Tarawa island, offered one Saturday & Sunday for $5 adults/$3 kids, under 6 free. They are held in the Pacific combat zone and last about 90 minutes. You will learn all about the military equipment of the Allies & Japanese then see a battle which includes a flamethrower. Earplugs are provided, and not all seats are shaded, so come 30 minutes early if you want a shaded seat (our show was sold out). It is highly recommended that children under 4 not attend due to noise from the weapons. There were several terrified young children whose parents had to leave. My kids (ages 8-14) loved it. There are no tours of the Pacific combat zone during re-enactment times, but we came the following day for a one hour guided tour. We had the privilege to be guided by Mr. Curly, who served in the Battle of the Bulge-we saw restored airfighters and a PT boat as well as a portable hospital. You can find a schedule & buy tickets online.
The museum complex includes a tribute to Admiral Nimitz in the Nimitz hotel, which we all enjoyed, a Japanese garden given as a gift by the people of Japan, a memorial garden with plaques honoring those who served in the Pacific, and a special area for all the presidents who served in WW2. The Pacific museum is huge, with many wonderful interactive exhibits that my kids enjoyed. It begins with a history of Chinese, Japanese, British & American relations starting in the late 1800s and builds to the 1940s conflict. There are many weapons, planes, navy, and marine artifacts...everything from kimonos to letters to parents to canteens. My daughters and I listened to every recorded incident by a WW2 veteran or family member...what a treasure! My sons & I watched many of the battle films, and especially appreciated the computerized narrated re-enactments of major battles, ending with lessons learned. The area showing the effects on TX civilian life was very interesting. Other TA reviews have more details of what you can see..there is too much to list! The museum continues to collect interviews from WW2 veterans and update its exhibits.
As others have mentioned, you will probably spend more time at this museum than you expect because it is so fascinating. We spent 1.5 days here, taking a break for lunch on the 2nd day (Rather sweet is a short walk, and Auslander is across the street). It can be done in one full day if you move quickly. My grandfather served stateside in WW2 and several of my great-uncles served in the Pacific theater. It gave us a greater appreciation of their sacrifices. I would come here again if we were in the area.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“World Class Museum in Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 via mobile

If you went to this museum back when it was the "Nimitz Museum" on Main Street, or even if you visited sometime before the renovations were completed in the last year or so, you might think that this is a "just OK" kind of place. If so, it's time for you to reconsider, and pay another visit to The Museum of the Pacific War in Fredericksburg.

Don't be fooled by the location. People, this is a world class museum. I've been to the Smithsonian Museums, and to Pearl Harbor, multiple times. This museum is just as good, if not better, than both of them. Sure, Pearl Harbor has its own special place in history, and the Smithsonian obviously has a lot of "other" history to offer. But as far as World War II, particularly the Pacific portion of WWII, is concerned, this museum is in a class by itself. If you're anywhere near Austin or San Antonio, do not miss this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Pacific War also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of the Pacific War? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of the Pacific War, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.