We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Motel with Authentic "Retro" charm & Great Trees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dietzel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dietzel Motel
Save
You added Dietzel Motel to your Saves list
1141 US Highway 290 West, Fredericksburg, TX 78624   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good value Motel with Authentic "Retro" charm & Great Trees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This small Motel just outside of Downtown Fredericksburg was a great location and a very good value when we stayed there on a weekend in which other Inns and cottages were almost "fully booked." We didn't want to pay the high B&B fees, and this was about $103 a night. Outside, when you drive up, its an "L" layout Motel, but it's on a very large lot and you can tell the Innkeepers are very conscientious... they are re-doing the pool when we were there. So outside is "plain", and you park right outside your room, but once inside... the rooms were very clean. The window unit (actually above window level...) was kinda noisy, but best thing is the view. Room had a large picture window, and you look out back onto "nature" with large trees ... It was a quiet place. Staff was friendly.
Tip: some of best German food in town is in the restaurant right next door. It was recommended by several, and the food was very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, NY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

If this is priced at least $10 below nearby chain hotels (no brkfst), it is well worth it. The room is not nearly as small as cheap motels usually are (had a table and big picture window) and this place is clean, safe and not by the road... and, of course, you park right in front of your room. The heat worked (follow his instructions) better than standard hotels. So, while not really exactly the Ritz, at 1/2 the price the other reviews are correct; it is worth seeking out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Very noisy when I was there. Room was next to ice machine and everyone congregated there.
Large wedding group was staying there and filled ice chests so no one else had any ice. Many were drunk. Could not get near the pool it was so crowded. Room was hot. Only thing good was the place was clean. Owners did nothing to quiet the others. They
were busy playing with their two dogs behind the motel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth, tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

You absolutely have to try this place. It's a hoot!! It's cleaner than my own bathroom! The bed was comfortable, he was asleep in 5 minutes. The room stayed nice and dark and while we expected some highway noise, there really wasn't any. It reminded me of staying at grandma's when you were a kid.

You absolutely can't beat a king size bed for 70 bucks. We're not staying at any other place except this one!! Gives you plenty of extra money to spend shopping!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Met my brother for a motorcycle ride through the Texas Hill Country and enjoyed the stay at the Dietzel. As previously stated, the rooms were impeccably clean, the owners and staff were extremely courteous, and the La-Z-Boy recliner, picture window (with pleasant view), and flat-screen TV made it seem almost luxurious!

Fredericksburg has a lot to offer for visitors, and we also had some great meals at some of the local restaurants.

I would stay at the Dietzel Motel again in a heartbeat!
.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We were looking for a nice weekend getaway but needed to stay within our budget. Based on the reviews on tripadvisor we selected the Dietzel Motel and were not disappointed. The room and facilities were clean and it was within walking distance of the downtown Fredericksburg shopping center. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Can you stand one more person saying the Dietzel Motel is clean? That's because it is. We stayed for two nights during the week and couldn't believe how affordable it was. It rained during our whole stay which would normally be a drag when staying in a budget hotel. Luckily, there was a huge picture window overlooking a beautiful landscape. Among other wildlife, we saw a roadrunner. The owners said there are two or three roadrunners that live back there.

The room itself reminded me of my childhood summer cottage with a built-in dresser in the wall. Our room had a very nice painting of the hill country which was a few notches above most hotel art. The bathroom was a good distance away from the bed area and it had a dressing table area too. It felt weird to sit down while putting on makeup (my grandma had a table like that) but it was nice to have a separate area from the bathroom.

Although the hotel doesn't advertise free wifi, if you ask you can be put in a room near the office that receives the wifi signal. The owners were extremely friendly and gave detailed restaurant advice. We really couldn't think of anything we didn't like about this hotel, given the location and price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dietzel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dietzel Motel

Address: 1141 US Highway 290 West, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Dietzel Hotel Fredericksburg
Dietzel Motel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dietzel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.