We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hilton Hotel downtown Fort Worth - The start of an unexpected pilgrimage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Fort Worth

Save Saved
You added Hilton Fort Worth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Worth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   815 Main St, Fort Worth, TX 76102 (Downtown Fort Worth)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kiss Me Goodnight
Ranked #18 of 100 hotels in Fort Worth
Victor Harbor, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Hilton Hotel downtown Fort Worth - The start of an unexpected pilgrimage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It was a real surprise to discover that President JFK spent his last night at this hotel. The hotel reflects the character of the era and has many stunning photos on display that reflect the President's last days. The location of the hotel is great - within walking distance to local & interstate trains (including the airport train) & buses. The Concierge, Jacki was amazing and planned our stay to ensure that we missed nothing. This hotel became part of an unexpected pilgrimage that included a visit to The 6th Floor in Dallas - a commemoration to JFK - which was amazing. As Australians we didn't know much about JFK so we learned a lot. Great hotel, great service, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, General Manager at Hilton Fort Worth, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your experience with us and also Fort Worth. Many of the staff remember you all- especially Jacki. We appreciate your kind words as I know Jackie does. You are so right about the location of the hotel- it is the heart of Downtown Fort Worth and in walking distance to the train that goes to Dallas. On your next visit the new JFK Tribute will be completed which will be a great site to see right in front of the hotel. Thank you again. Dave Fulton VP and General Manager dave.fulton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    166
    70
    36
    22
See reviews for
58
136
35
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family and I stayed here during a TCU football game. We are Hilton Gold members and picked this hotel because they had one of the very best reservation agents ever - Kate - who was able to reserve us connecting rooms (King to two doubles). When traveling with kids, having connecting rooms can make or break a trip. Kate went above and beyond during the reservation process and not only remembered us at check-in but confirmed that everything she promised was delivered. I give her an A+! The hotel is in a great location downtown (a 10 minute drive to TCU) and one block from our favorite restaurant in Ft. Worth, Grace. The lobby is very impressive. The rooms were recently updated but showed signs of what used to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, General Manager at Hilton Fort Worth, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently for the TCU Football game and for taking time to review your experience. We appreciate your kind words regarding Kate- one of our great team members. We do have many guests stay with us for the games due to our location in the Heart of Downtown Fort Worth (close to numerous great restaurants including Grace!) and the closness of TCU (by car or by bus via the "T" for only $3.00 round trip) We recently over Labor Weekend had many college football fans stay with us for the Cowboy Classic at Cowboy Stadium...the "T" has a round trip bus program for only $10- which is a great service at a very reasonable price. Upcoming enhancements to our guest rooms will in-room safes and by end of the year in-room mini fridges. Thank you again and we hope will see you all soon. Thanks Dave Fulton VP and General Manager. dave.fulton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently booked the Hilton Downtown Ft Worth through a booking site HotelOne. (This site will somehow pop up when you u do a hotel search.) Although making my booking 2-3 months inadvance; receiving a confirmation; and PAYING FOR the room, I had NO reservation when arriving for my event. To make matters worse, the hotel was sold out for a wedding and the HILTON STAFF was not interested interested in trying to resolve the problem. They were rude, impatient and condescending like I was trying to get by w/ something. I had to change in a bathroom and was late and frustrated for my event after scrambling to find last minute accommodations. Now I have to try to get my money back (like that will happen). Dont use this site. Dont stay at this hotel. Ft Worth has LOTS more courteous hotels. Its back to the Worthington and Omni for me.

Room Tip: Stay at Worthington instead. Courteous and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, General Manager at Hilton Fort Worth, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
I reviewed your comments regarding your experience at our front desk recently. I am very concerned as we are trying to determine the reservation process that you incountered.
If you can pls. email me what ever information you might have so we can research and quickly
determine what happened. We are unaware of the reservation source you mentioned and really want to resolve. My email address is dave.fulton@hilton.com I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. thank you Dave Fulton VP and Genera Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fantastic location in Sundance Sqaure... everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) is in wallking distance to this hotel - shops, restaurants, pubs - great nightlife. Horsedrawn carriage rides along the cobblestone streets are a sight to see :) We were in town only for weekend to catch Cowboys game. Super short ride to stadium, only 15mins (tops!). Only 5mins drive to downtown Stokyards (Billy Bob's Bar, Coopers BBQ, and cute shops). The Hilton service was OUTSTANDING (Texans are so friendly)! Just happened to mention durning an informal conversation w/ a hotel staff member that it was our wedding anniv and that very evening we returned to a nice surprise in our guest room (strawberry's and champagne). Complementary! This older hotel is loaded with history yet updated nicely to today's standards (marble bathrooms, flat screet TV's, super comfy down covered beds, and impeccably clean! A very welcome treat after long days walking about town :) Highly recommend the Hilton - will come back (for sure!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, General Manager at Hilton Fort Worth, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently and thank you for your taking time to review your visit. We are real pleased that you enjoyed your stay and agree that the hotel is a great location for all the Downtown Fort Worth offers. We have many guests stay with while attending events at Cowboy Stadium, TCU and all the other entertainment, attractions and restuarants within walking distance. The "T" offers transportation to the game Cowboy Stadium for only $10 round trip and to TCU games for $3 round trip per person. The hotel as you know is full of history and late in October the JFK Tribute will have its ribbon cutting. The Tribute is right in frong of the and will have bronze life size sculpture of JFK as well glass covered pictures etc. The hotel is a Historical Landmark as well. Happy Anniversary again!! Thank you and we hope you will return again soon. Dave Fulton VP and General Manager. dave.fulton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Historical landmark hotel in downtown Ft Worth close to the convention center. This hotel hosted the last night spent by JFK and his entourage before his tragic death in Dallas - many memorable photos adorn the facility but the overall effect is a little macabre and slightly grotesque because it's presented in a commemorative way.

We checked in early on a Friday afternoon past a throng of people standing in the foyer. It was only after completing the check in that I asked the clerk about the parking arrangement, i.e. "How do I park my vehicle after unloading?".

Then I was told that there is valet parking only, for $22+ per day. No self park allowed!

This of course explained the throng of people in the foyer - they were all waiting their turn for the valet to retrieve their vehicles,and some of them had been there for quite a while, waiting.

Needless to say this is a completely unacceptable arrangement since it's motivated by the greed of the establishment while putting the customer at a disadvantage for his own movements.

The staff at the hotel were all outgoing and friendly, they are always willing to help- this is a clear positive note for the hotel. The wait staff in the restaurant were a little too eager to join the conversation and were slightly prying but eventually backed off and focused on their job. They are clearly trying to do an excellent job.

The room was standard and uninspiring though. Iy was reasonably clean and a few years into the refurbishment cycle. No fridge in the room, icemaker on the floor. Flat screen TV's. Internet is an additional charge unless you are Hilton Honors member.

Breakfast is either the buffet (standard) or menu. No free breakfast with room on the deal we had.

So basically it appears this facility's business model is to target the convention business traveler's expense account and stuff it with as many charges as possible. There are many better alternatives nearby for your weekend getaway, suggest a little careful shopping will reap rewards. The Sheraton up the street, for example, has a huge car park out back where you can pull in and come and go at No Charge, as much as you wish. And an equally good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, General Manager at Hilton Fort Worth, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking time to review.. There is a great deal of history about the hotel- both the Historic Landmark and as the history surronding JFK. I apologize for the challenges with Valet. We will be updating the room amenities this year with in-room mini fridges and in-room safes. We do offer a Bed and Breakfast value rate as well. As you indicated if you are an HHonors member you do receive complimentary wi-fi and also if you are a Gold or Diamond HHonors member we provide access to the Executive Lounge that provides a complimentary continental breakfast, evening hospitality and all non sodas/water and light snacks. I do appreciate your comments ...thank you. Dave Fulton VP and General Manager. dave.fulton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed there this past week for business, and from the great greeting at the drive, to the desk staff to Jacki the concierge, this staff is on their game. It is a historic hotel, full of history and culture, and so conveniently located to everything! Try it out yourself!

Room Tip: My king bed was so comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, General Manager at Hilton Fort Worth, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. We appreciate your kind words regarding our team members from valet- to the desk and to Jackie our Journey Ambassador. I am pleased that you recognize the historic nature of our hotel and the incredible location in the heart of downtown Fort Worth close to so many entertainment venues, the culture, Sundance Square and the Fort Worth Convention Center plus "Molley the Trolley" that takes you to so many area of the downtown Free. We are hopeful on your next visit that you will stay with us again. Thank you. Dave Fulton VP and General Manager. dave.fulton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A few issues which were worked out by Reception staff, however they should not have occured.

Check in went smoothly, however upon arrival at our room we discovered the bed was not made (bed sheets were thrown over the floor) and there were no towels in the bathroom, Obviously we were allocated a room that was not made up from previous guests.
Reception staff were apologetic and allocated us another room on the same floor so we didnt have to lug our suitcases back to the lift and to another floor.

We requested a late check-out prior to our arrival and this was granted by the GM and confirmed when we checked in. So the next morning we went out for the day and upon arrival back to our room at around 2pm the room key did not work. So down to Reception we went to get our key adjusted for the late checkout as promised.
Go back to our room only to find the key still did not work, so back down to Reception we went again. The receptionist said that the problem must be with the actual door lock and not the key as she insisted she programmed it correctly for our late checkout. We asked for a new key card but she said the problem was with the doors lock and not the key and she sent a maintenance man up with us to check it out. We thought this was a bit odd as the keycard had worked correctly up until the standard checkout time.

It turned out that the problem was not with the lock but that the keycard was not programmed correctly afterall, so back down to reception we went again.
This time the Receptionist that had insisted the issue was not at her end was no where to be found, so we explained it all again to another staff member who happily issued us another room key. It would have been easier if that was arranged for us on our first visit back to reception and not on our 3rd. !!

On a positive note, the steakhouse restaurant "The Capital Grill' located opposite the hotel was absolutely fantastic. The best steak we have had in a long time.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator, otherwise you will hear the really noise ice machine which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F, General Manager at Hilton Fort Worth, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking time to review your experience. I do appreciate your comments and also apologize for the inconveniences your experienced. The challenges with housekeeping have been reviewed and discussed with the team. The key challenges have also been addressed. I really do appreciate comments from guests- they are very helpful in our quest to constantly improve our services and amenities. Thank you again.
Dave Fulton VP and General Manager. dave.fulton@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Fort Worth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Worth

Address: 815 Main St, Fort Worth, TX 76102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth > Downtown Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Fort Worth 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous as the scene of 35th President John F Kennedy’s final address on the morning of November 22, 1963, Hilton Fort Worth is located in downtown Fort Worth, TX. This hotel is a stone's throw away from Sundance Square and minutes from the Fort Worth Cultural District, the Stockyards area and Texas Christian University (TCU). Experience comfortable guest rooms offering amenities such as a 42-inch flat-screen cable HDTV and WiFi access. For more space, upgrade to a stylish suite or executive room at our Hilton hotel. Savor your favorites at Ruth's Chris Steak House or enjoy a coffee at the onsite Starbucks. Impress colleagues and friends alike by hosting your next event in downtown Fort Worth with a range of meeting room options. We cater to your business or social needs. As one of the only hotels next to the Fort Worth Convention Center, we offer business services and WiFi (for a nominal fee) in all rooms for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Fort Worth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Worth Hotel Fort Worth
Hilton Hotel Fort Worth
Fort Worth Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Fort Worth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.