We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenbacks Galore!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bureau of Engraving and Printing

Bureau of Engraving and Printing
9000 Blue Mound Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76131
817 231 4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 72 Attractions in Fort Worth
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Greenbacks Galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You know, this place is really pretty cool. We visited during the week of Thanksgiving and its everything that you have read. My family's ages ranged from 45 to 12, and everyone got something different and good out of it. The employees that you see through the glass wall are aware if your presence. Some smile, others wave and some even flirt. Please don't let that distract from this review as we all had a interesting, fun time. Its your money, produced by your country...go check it out!

No cell phones and cameras allowed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    63
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Better than I was expecting...Love the smell of Money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This has been on my 'to do' list for a while. Glad I finally made it out to the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. I love how the place smells of fresh crisp money! The tour is well organized and a nice FREE attraction and lesson for kids. My 6 year old daughter really enjoyed it and is currently inspecting the paper money in my wallet.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“See How the Dollar Bill is Made”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are in the Fort Worth area, go to the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. It is both educational and fun. No cameras, cell phones, or other electronics are allowed. The visit is free. Make sure you review when the tours are available because they are closed on Mondays and weekends. You first see a short movie explaining how US money (paper) is made then you walk above the actual processes seeing real cash being made. Just seeing the amount of money in the place will make your head spin. I think kids from about eight years old and above will enjoy it. Plan on fifteen minutes for the movie, another thirty minutes for the tour (you get an audio stick), and another thirty to forty-five minutes to see the exhibits.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“One of two in the country.. had to do this... educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We made it a point to come here b/c it was one of those things you just can't see elsewhere. You park your car, leaving all electronics in your car!!, and you go thorugh security. Once through security, you are bussed to the faciliies (not even 3 minutes away). Once inside (free admission!), there are two floors of displays that you can roam until the time of the video they show you. You watch a 15 min video and then head over for the walking tour. They had you a handheld phone looking thing where you walk to each station and press the corresponding number. The tour is above the actual facility where money is printed. IMPRESSIVE I tell you!! There was one pallet on the floor that held a stack of uncut notes. There was a handmade sign that said "this is $8,000,000". Ummm, WOW! There is a gift store that you can buy a little something... They then bus you back to car area.....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This visit was really interesting. Is a site you must stop and visit. I learned a lot and the kids too. The day I went they were printing the new $100 note. Of course you are not allow to take photos. You are not even allow to bring your cell phone or cameras inside. It is free of charge and tours are all done in a very organized manner. Tour lasted about 40 minutes but it was worth it. There is also a mini museum and a gift shop. I recommend visiting this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bureau of Engraving and Printing also viewed

 

Been to Bureau of Engraving and Printing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bureau of Engraving and Printing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.