We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still...so good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carshon's Delicatessen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carshon's Delicatessen
3133 Cleburne Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76110-3706
817-923-1907
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 1,322 restaurants in Fort Worth
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still...so good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This little place has been around for a number of years. It is still good, but a little pricey for what you now get. They are (seemingly) living off their reputation they had in previous years.
Still good, but service is a little slow.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches, wonderful desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I hadn't heard of this little deli spot near TCU before a couple of days ago, when a co-worker recommended it. So we came today for our annual Christmas lunch -- I walked in and saw a deli counter, but was surprised to learn that it was sit-down service with waitstaff. The atmosphere was familiar and comfortable, and the waitstaff was friendly and attentive.

I opted for the Ruthie sandwich -- corned beef, turkey, cole slaw and Russian dressing on egg bread -- and it was very tasty. My boss got herself a cup of their daily soup, which was chicken noodle, and I wished I'd done likewise, as it looked and smelled wonderful.

In checking out the reviews prior to my visit, I noted how everyone raved over the desserts -- well, today they had *butterscotch* meringue pie! I think more places ought to have butterscotch dessert offerings, honestly. It was heaven on a plate.

One thing to keep in mind is that the place is cash or check only -- your plastic won't do you any good here. I would assume they have an ATM on site, but I can't recall right now, so you'd be advised to have cash ready when you come.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best sandwiches ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Go and order the Rebecca ... pastrami, turkey, cream cheese then grilled, served by a friendly server... you will thank me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Banana cream pie! Time Travel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A little time capsule with good food. Great sandwiches (and a wonderful selection of them). Classic tile interior and efficient waitresses. Banana cream pie to dream about. It was in a terrible looking part of town, sort of the neighborhood God forgot, but otherwise a memorable lunch.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great deli fare, but the desserts are excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Every now and again I get a less-than-perfect corned beef on rye with Swiss (grilled) at Carshon's, but I'm not going to low-rate it because the chocolate pie and chocolate pudding cake outrank anything you can buy anywhere else in the Metroplex. The homemade split-pea soup lacks salt, but this is good considering the target age group that meets at Carshon's doesn't eat a lot of salt, and it's always something that can be added at the table. But it's thick and creamy and almost a meal unto itself if you get the bowl, not the cup. My husband likes any of the sandwiches, but I'm a dyed-in-the-wool corned beef on rye with Swiss--grill it! The place is small, and packed if you go at noon, and there's not a lot of parking available, and once you start going, you'll recognize the same repeat customers. At Thanksgiving, they take pie and other dessert orders, so put yourself on the list. Great coconut pie, too. You won't be disappointed with this genuine delicatessen, and it beats any other place calling itself a deli, hands-down. Open for breakfast and lunch, closed on Sundays. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carshon's Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Carshon's Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carshon's Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.