We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Meals I Have Had in a Long Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay Pigeon

Clay Pigeon
2731 White Settlement Road, Fort Worth, TX 76107
+1 817-882-8065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,371 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A From Scratch, Seasonal and Fresh Menu prepared by Chef Marcus Paslay who was born and raised in Arlington, TX. He was trained at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, NY and worked in excellent kitchens all over the United States including Seattle, WA, Vail, CO, Hawaii, Glen Rose, TX and Dallas, TX. Our mission is to translate our passion for food preparation to your dining experience.
marssl
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals I Have Had in a Long Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I recently had the opportunity to dine at Clay Pigeon on a Saturday night. The food was exceptional. We started with one of the flat bread appetizers. The crust was some of the best I have ever had. For entrees, I had a steak and my wife had the fish special. The steak was as good as I have ever had-cooked perfectly with a nice smokey flavor. You could really tell they use real wood with their grill. For desert, we had the cobbler. It was also very good.

They had several very good seasonal beers on tap, each of which were very reasonably priced. The food likewise was very reasonably priced for the level of quality.

Service was good. Even though the restaurant was full, we never felt neglected.

Overall, I can't find fault with anything. It's nice to see a restaurant like this in Fort Worth and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Bird With Feet of Clay?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

In the hunting world, a clay pigeon is a clay disk that is used for target practice. In the restaurant world of Fort Worth, a Clay Pigeon may be a restaurant on an unstable foundation, metaphorically speaking.

After reading about and hearing about the Clay Pigeon restaurant, we were enticed to try it by another couple. They had eaten there a week or so ago and thought it was fantastic. Given their gustatory reputations we thought it would be worth a try. It was not a total disaster, but it was not what they expected or what we hoped to find.

Arriving for an early evening dinner on a Saturday in Fort Worth is normally a good idea. The restaurant is ready for the later dinner crowd, but the place is not crowded. One can expect good service, good food and a less congested, less noisy dining experience. On this evening, it was less noisy, less congested and the food was okay. The service unfortunately was not up to the standards of a restaurant aspiring to be a player in the burgeoning Fort Worth restaurant scene.

The food met with mixed reviews at our table. The two ladies both ordered the pork shank on a bed of polenta. They were both pleased with their choices, as they were with the butternut squash soup. The men ordered the house made pasta of the day. It was a very thin flat noodle in a bolognese sauce with house made pancetta and swordfish. (I described the pasta as the appearance did not match the label used by the server.)

The pasta was acceptable, but the bits of swordfish could easily be mistaken for bits of ground beef. The pancetta was either missing or completely indistinguishable from the swordfish. The pasta dish was very rich for a red sauce, which made up for the small portion. However, a $20.00+ pasta dish needs to be a lot better than the $10.00 dish one can enjoy at any number of neighborhood restaurants in Fort Worth.

The deserts were also a mixed bag. Our friends had the house made ice cream trio, and we had the house made apple cobbler. The ice creams were a complex mess, okay, could be better and what were they thinking. The cobbler was good, and advertised as enough for two. It was enough for two if they were both on a very strict diet. Actually, as far as size is concerned both deserts were adequate, but when compared to the cobbler one finds routinely at other restaurants, this one was minuscule and overpriced.

This writer has agreed to give the place another chance. It was either that or take a chance on sleeping on the couch for a week. (Just kidding honey!) However, if it takes almost two hours to eat mediocre food, that will be my last foray into that establishment. A dining experience is one thing, being forgotten by your server is another.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin Missouri
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I guess that the name of the restaurant is misleading. When I think of Clay Pigeon, I think of target practice and the related wild game hunting, that follows. To our surprise, there was no pheasant, duck, quail, deer, elk, etc, on the menu. Our group had to have a shift in mindset, even to find something on the menu to order. Wine at $10/glass is over priced. A spinach salad at $10 is too much. We enjoyed mussels as an appetizer, but disappointed that you do not have an option for French bread. Instead the only option offered was a hard, grilled bread that crunched and difficult to chew. We missed having salt/pepper shakers on the table, too. Designating the on-site restaurant parking, 'Valet only’ conveys an unwelcome message.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wednesday Couples night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

An evening out with wonderful friends deserves a spectacular meal - we found it at the Clay Pigeon. Good bar (what no Grey Goose) prompt service, interesting menu.

Be prepared for the price - our meal for 2 - with 2 drinks was $150.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food was good but the portions are very small & pricey. I'm not sure the FW market is going to understand the roasted bone marrow & pork belly confit but the flatbread, daily catch & daily pasta were good. The restaurant looks exactly like it did when it was Lamberts & Pedro's Trailer Park with only the addition of a wine room where the stage use to be when it was Pedro's. .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay Pigeon also viewed

 

Been to Clay Pigeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay Pigeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.