We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saint-Emilion a great French Restaurant in Texas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint-Emilion Restaurant

Saint-Emilion Restaurant
3617 W 7th St, Fort Worth, TX 76107-2504 (Cultural District)
817 737 2781
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,327 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cultural District
FORT WORTH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Saint-Emilion a great French Restaurant in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ofter go to Saint-Emilion for a special dinner or a Tuesday or Wednesday night escape. The food is always excellent and the ambience is enjoyable. We have never had a bad meal in all of the years that we have enjoyed Saint-Emilion !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    14
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful food -- even better wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Came here with my wife and two friends to celebrate the closing of a deal. Although our server was in a bit over her head, the somalier was fantastic. We enjoyed all of our food and the wines we had were fantastic. Great experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Next time I visit Fort Worth, I'll look for another French restaurant before returning to St Emilion.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The ambience is pleasant and the wait staff is very well trained and helpful. Putting the one list on an IPad is an interesting idea.

This restaurant's downfall is the food: The foil gras was over-cooked - crusty and did not melt in the mouth. The lettuce chiffonade was watery mush. The duck breast was fine, but no more than fine. And, somehow, the kitchen had run out of espresso grounds. (Hint - buy a pound of grounds at Starbucks before opening the doors for dinner.). Two exceptions - the steak tartare was tasty and the floating island exceeded expectations.

It was distressing to be taken to the worst table in the room after arriving when only two other tables were seated and five tables remained unseated when i left two hours later. It was more distressing to learn from the menu that there is a minimum charge ($30, not including drinks) per person. It was most distressing to discover how large (50%of item price) a surcharge is placed on split or shared plates.

Perhaps there's a reason Fort Worth is a steakhouse town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Most romantic and intimate in Fort Worth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ambience, great food, and our place for special occasions. The french onion soup is a delight, and the menu always full of wonderful choices. The chef has come and asked us how our food was on many occasions, adding to the personal touch. The staff is wonderful, and we always look forward to going there. Every dish has been well prepared and we have always enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Supreme Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

What was to have been a special birthday dinner for my wife turned out to be a supreme disappointment. While most of the meal was good, her entrée was not, and the handling of the matter by the staff was less than satisfying. My wife’s entrée, chosen from the “Menu Classique” and called Escalope de Veau Chasseur, better know to us westerners as scallopine of veal, was tough and difficult to cut even with a steak knife. When we pointed this out to the server she took the plate and, accompanied by one of the hosts, went into the kitchen. Nothing further was said until just before our dessert was served when another host appeared at our table with two small dishes containing a couple pieces of cheese, a piece of toasted baguette, and half a strawberry. He agreed that the veal was tough and stated that it had probably been cut "too high on the leg.” He said the little dishes of cheese were complimentary. After dessert, we received our check for the full amount of the meals ($125.00) with no comment. I should note that the dining room is small, with perhaps 20 tables in an area no larger than 1000 square feet. There was probably some concern by the staff that no notice should be taken of our problem. While this was one of our favorite restaurants, we will be reluctant to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint-Emilion Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saint-Emilion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint-Emilion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.