We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lonesome Dove Western Bistro

Lonesome Dove Western Bistro
2406 N Main St, Fort Worth, TX 76164-8519
817-740-8810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lonesome Dove Western Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,274 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main and Exchange Ave.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The elk sliders were truly a delight.
The lobster hush puppies were suprisingly chock full of lobster (very little corn meal)
The jalepeno margarita is a must have
My wife and I shared the Tomahawk Ribeye. It was a good quality steak, though somewhat over priced for the value.
All in all a really nice expereience when visiting Fort Worth.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    55
    25
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Truly one of the best dinners we have had. The elk sliders and the elk main course were both excellent as was the squash soup. In fact, every dish was special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hands Down, Best Meal Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

When my husband asks where I want to go when I want to celebrate something, I always say Lonesome Dove. We've been here 4 times now, and every time the food is excellent. The service is always good. They don't fawn all over you, it's more laid back than that. Some might expect more of an upscale vibe due to the prices, but this is Cowtown, we're casual around here.

The elk sliders are a never miss for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lonesome dove western bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

2nd time here, always great great food, excellent service, had the steak (of course) very tender and delish! a bit on the pricey side but well worth dinner!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not on their game this night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visiting from out of town with my wife. I travel a lot and eat at a lot of memorable places. So this is not our "first rodeo" eating at a "look forward to" establishment. The couple we were with spends many many thousands of dollars per year entertaining customers at Lonesome Dove. His comment was "I can always count on them to rise to the occasion...I don't have to worry that there will be any problems or that everyone won't have a good time."

So, here's the story. Their regular server was off that night. Our server opens by saying "I have been instructed to make sure we take really good care of you tonight." OK. You set expectations.
Yes, it is very capable of being a unique and memorable experience. The whole urban cowboy cuisine thing really is kind of unique and well-conceived. And for the most part the food was very good. But, we are not a budget table...a $120 entree and over $300 in wine. Should hope the service is good.

So, what went wrong? Food was mostly excellent (except below). We shared several appetizers and salads. Most were good; the elk sliders in particular.The Hamachi tostadas...the fish really did not taste fresh at all. But, we're having a good time and the restaurant has a good vibe. Now the entrees come. They range from tepid to cold. The aforementioned high priced entree does not appear..."oops, got it wrong" (all four confirming the order was stated right). NO PROBLEM...we'll heat your entrees while we get the Wagyu Ribeye done. So the table gets cleared (except the sides, which stay cold). Really. we're still Ok with all this.

Eventually our entrees reappear. Sorta lukewarm...not hot. They did point out they replaced the asparagus side on my plate (two stalks...what about the sides on the table?). I pointed out that they cleared my silverware with the returned entree..."don't forget I need new utensils." Someone did bring a fork. But what about everyone else? we waited to get someone to get utensils while the food got colder. Finally three of us ate a very good meal---except the Wagyu hasn't shown up. Oops. Finally it does. Really? Yes, they comped and bagged the steak since we were ready to go at that time.

So, I would like to go revisit when they are "on their game." I think they can live up to their reputation. This was really a disaster and we were with what I am sure is a key customer of theirs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lonesome Dove Western Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lonesome Dove Western Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonesome Dove Western Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.