We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie V's Prime Seafood

Eddie V's Prime Seafood
3100 West 7th Street, Fort Worth, TX 76107
+1 817-336-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eddie V's Prime Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,270 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: If you want seafood, the buzz in town is Eddie V's Prime Seafood. The Gulf Coast menu features lots of seafood - oysters, gulf snapper, fresh tuna, lobster, plus great prime steaks and chops. Expect a hip and high energy dining experience. Savor classic seafood starters like oysters on the half shell, Tartare of Pacific Ahi Tuna , and our famous Maryland Style Crab Cake. The extensive wine list features over 150 selections. Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Eddie V's Prime Seafood. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We used to love Eddie V's, but on our first experience since they were purchased by Darden (Red Lobster), we were disappointed by both the limited menu and less-than-excellent preparation.

Changes were signaled early when we arrived slightly before the other couple, and the wait staff had to clear the other 2 places because we didn't arrive together, even though they were coming in the door.

Of the 3 fish choices on the menu, two were tilapia.

I'll never understand why corporations buy a brand for their reputation, then dumb it down to the new owner's standards.

If you'd never been before, you'll probably like it. But it's just not what it used to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    31
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Not knowing what to expect, we made reservations after a day at the museums, so glad we did! We had a fantastic shrimp cocktail to start with, this is not like any you might have had, so try it. Swordfish which was prepared exactly right, hard to find in many restaurants. We could not even consider dessert even though they all sounded wonderful. Our waiter was just the right blend of being personal and professional and making you feel that he was very glad to be serving you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Eddie V's in Fort Worth is a great place for seafood. I didn't relize it was a chain it has the feel of a local restuarant. They do a great job with big parties and the food and service were great

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Absolutely top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A very hip and popular top notch restaurant, with crowds to match. Treated the whole family to dinner here, and while the price was high, the experience, the service, and the quality of the food were beyond compare. Impress your date, impress your business colleague, anyone will be impressed by being lucky enough to dine here. Even on a budget, its worth it at least once!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Annual family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We had and excellent dinner here with outstanding service. There were 10 of us so we had a private room, which was much quieter for conversation. The steaks and the seafood were very fresh and well prepared. There was live music in the bar, which looked like a lot of fun,.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eddie V's Prime Seafood also viewed

 
Fort Worth, TX
 

Been to Eddie V's Prime Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddie V's Prime Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.