We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood's German European

Greenwood's German European
3522 Bluebonnet Circle, Fort Worth, TX 76109
817-921-6777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,274 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was so impressed by the quality of this food! It is consistently top notch, with a nice place to sit and friendly waiters. This is definitely the best German food in this entire area!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect little neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Let me start by saying this isn't Lonesome Dove or Saint Emillion, but it isn't meant to be. When my husband and I came here, we were looking for good food, and we found it. The ambiance isn't romantic, and we mainly heard German techno while we dined, but it felt like the little cafés I frequented when visiting Germany. The menu is decidedly German, so give it a miss if you're looking for something American. We enjoyed everything we had. We aren't drinkers, so I can't comment on the wine/beer list.

The service was quick, and friendly, but not gushing like some people seem to expect. We really enjoyed our visit here and plan to return soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NOT TOP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

There is no way this is a top restaurant in Antarctica let alone Fort Worth. Clearly the other 16 reviewers are family of owners. Slow service, mediocre food, and dingy digs. Stay away folks, it's a trap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great authentic German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very tasty-as always.
Four of us all tried different items-all were outstanding, from the always delivcious homemade spatzle, to the Jgerschnitzel and the Marinierter Sauerbraten, to the potato pancakes.
We even tried dessert this time and the Vaniia Ice Cream wrap was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Solid German Food - but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Yes - this is authentic German food. I grew up in Milwaukee where German food is a religion. The spaetzle was outstanding. HOWEVER - limited options for non-german dishes. Very limited wine list - about 10 wines with nothing special. Our service was lacking. Two orders arrived - then the next 2 - but the last was almost 5 minutes after the others. Finished with strudel which was excellent. Lots of local regulars which is also a good sign. It is the best german food in FTW - solid - but it does not match up with the best in Milwaukee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood's German European also viewed

 

Been to Greenwood's German European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwood's German European, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.