We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar...Guten Apetit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood's German European

Greenwood's German European
3522 Bluebonnet Circle, Fort Worth, TX 76109
817-921-6777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,356 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Restaurant details
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Wunderbar...Guten Apetit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Pleasantly surprised to find such an authentic German restaurant in Fort Worth. What may be lacking in atmosphere and decor is made up tenfold by the quality of the meals and the personable service by the owners and waitstaff. Recently enjoyed a dinner of goulash, spaetzle, and red cabbage. Also had a delicious bowl of lentil soup. The red cabbage was prepared perfectly, exactly how my mother makes it. Overall, a wonderful restaurant to enjoy German cooking. Delicious bread served. Nice selection of German beer. One of the owners came around often to make sure everything was ok. Decent crowd for a mid week dinner. Located right on historic Blue Bonnett Circle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“German food at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The first time I ate at this restaurant I brought a German student for dinner. I wanted to get his opinion on the food and if it was par to the food he eats at home. Friedrich ordered Schweineschnitzel Paniert (breaded pork loin) with mushroom sauce and Spatzle, I ordered the same. The dinner portion was huge and delicious and Friedrich agreed with me but said it was much better than what he eats in Germany! Dessert was apple strudel and served warm just right and not too sweet. The husband and wife team renovated the restaurant recently and I've been there 4 more times! Lunch portions are smaller and less expensive. The split pea soup and the red cabbage are one of my favorites! Guten Appetit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“German Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My belly is very happy after eating Greenwood's authentic German food. My sister and I were cheerfully greeted at 5:00 for an early Saturday night dinner. We shared both the Schweinschintzel and the Brawtwurst plate. It was excellent and then made more excellent by a cherry strudel. Although the atmosphere is simple it was comfortable. Go treat yourself to a tasty meal that is reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent authentic German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been to Greenwood's 3 times before.. every time the food was excellent. I've lived in Germany for a year,and travel to Germany several times a year. I know my Schnitzel. Considering the use of American ingredients ( real German flour, butter, pork..even the water, are different!) , Greenwoods is by far the closest to the real thing. decor is simple , clean. I highly recommend Greenwood's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Greenwoord's - Authentic German Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

There are very few places in Fort Worth that feature German food and this is by far the best I've found in Texas. The chef/owner trained in Germany and it shows in the authenticity of the food. Be sure you check the restaurant's web site to review the menu selections and hours of operation. Note - they are closed on Sunday/Monday and are only open for lunch on Thursdays and Fridays. Greenwood's offers $10.99 specials on Tues, Wed, and Thurs nights. Check the website for details. One thing that especially set Greenwood's apart was the desert. My wife and I each had the dessert special for the night - a champaigne glass filled with a fruit sauce that including strawberries, blueberries, cherries with a vanilla sauce - it was terrific. I can't wait to try their other desserts. With regard to reservations, I think it would be a good idea on Saturday nights and perhaps Friday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood's German European also viewed

 

Been to Greenwood's German European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwood's German European, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.