We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Texas Barbeque!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railhead Smokehouse

Railhead Smokehouse
2900 Montgomery St, Fort Worth, TX 76107-5613
817-738-9808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,347 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Real Texas Barbeque!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place has great Barbeque at very reasonable prices. And you can't beat the frozen margueritas for $3.70! There is no table service and its plastic plates and all but the food is great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    25
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good Texas Barbeque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice version of a TX roadhouse. The brisket was not the best I've had, but overall the experience was good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is an old fashioned Texas BBQ place with food to match it's reputation among the locals. The service was fast as you could walk the serving line. Don't expect anything fancy in the way of food but if you are looking for a place to blow your daily limit of cholesterol this is the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Bland food, good atmosphere, reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

All in all, I didn't love the food. It just taste bland. We had a variety of items - ribs, chicken, and pork. The portions were good, but the flavor was missing. Drinks were reasonably priced. The decorations were cool inside the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Railhead Smokehouse (Fort Worth, TX)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Today's (Thursday) special was a rib sandwich plate, which sounded awesome, but I was in the mood for a little more food than that. I settled on a Two Meat Combo with ribs and sausage, as well as potato salad, beans, and coleslaw that automatically come on the side. I ended up with a massive pile of food for just under $11.00.

As usual, sides first. The potato salad was creamy and full of mustard, and it had a nice amount of crunch to it too. I also liked that they left some of the potato skins mixed in. The beans were cooked perfectly and had a ton of flavor. I would have preferred them to be a little spicier, but I'm sure they omitted the spice for the sake of universal appeal. Despite my dislike of coleslaw, I decided to sample it for the sake of completeness. It was sweet and crunchy, but I won't bother to critique it any further.

The sausage had coarse black pepper clearly visible through the casings, and it came with a perfect dark reddish-brown color. There was also slight smoke ring penetrating just below the casings, made all the more evident by the great smokey flavor. I also caught a little bit of heat on the back end, which was nice. Once piece of my sausage accidentally ended up in the beans, and I actually enjoyed that flavor combination much better than the sauce. Overall though, the sausage tasted best on its own.

My ribs had a nice visible char and looked big and glorious. The meat was tender, juicy, and packed with seasonings. There was also a nice rendering on the fat. Much like my sausage, I found that the ribs had a pleasant and noticeable degree of smoke. Each bite came off the bone with ease, but had enough staying power not to entirely debone the ribs all in one pull. Just the way I like it.

If you want a great Fort Worth experience, add Railhead to your list.

Read my full review, complete with pictures:

The Barbecue Fiend
http://barbecuefiend.blogspot.com/2013/03/railhead-smokehouse-fort-worth-tx.html

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railhead Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Railhead Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railhead Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.