We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chow Hall style dining, Good Smoked Brisket/Ribs...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railhead Smokehouse

Railhead Smokehouse
2900 Montgomery St, Fort Worth, TX 76107-5613
817-738-9808
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #38 of 1,312 restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Chow Hall style dining, Good Smoked Brisket/Ribs...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

People heap all kinds of Praise on the Railhead ... but I preferred another place.. here's why, not taking anything away from Railhead but it certainly was more casual, Chow Hall style Texas BBQ where you wait in a line to order then find a table, perhaps fight or wait for a table, the sides weren't as good as other places and the presentation was better elsewhere... Valuewise Railhead was a buck or 2 less than some other BBQ's.

Based on the number of people there, Railhead Smokehouse is well liked in the area and a good meal, good value overall. The food was a solid Texas Style smoked Ribs/Brisket, etc, so I'm not complaining at all, just trying to compare different BBQ Joints in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    59
    42
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best barbeque in Fort Worth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

There are a lot of good barbeque places in Fort Worth, but this is my favorite. Good barbeque at a good price with a relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend that you come here for barbeque in Fort Worth.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very casual - geat food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a Fort Worth institution. Casual, inexpensive, with great BBQ. I recommend the ribs but the beef BBQ is great also. Good place for lunch if you are in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best ribs around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

They have the best ribs I've ever had and I've lived in the DFW area and the Kansas City area known for it's BBQ - nothing compares to these ribs. They are fabulous, fall off the bone delicious. The frieds with grilled onions are a must have as well. The service is always great. You really can't go wrong with this place!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The line was long; however, there was a reason -- it was a very good value. The french fries and onion rings were outstanding, the barbecue was tender, moist, and smoky (what else could we want???) The service was fast and efficient. The outdoor seating was great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railhead Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Railhead Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railhead Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.