We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Good History Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reata Restaurant

Reata Restaurant
310 Houston St, Fort Worth, TX 76102-7404 (Downtown Fort Worth)
817-336-1009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Reata Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,343 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Fort Worth
Texas
Top Contributor
955 reviews 955 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“Good Location Good History Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Located in the historial square of Fort Worth this restaurant has a lot of history and atmosphere. The waitress Erica was very friendly and helpful explaining the history, and menu. I had the Tenderloin Steak and my spouse had the Salmon both were very good.

Recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    146
    42
    20
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

When you walk into Reata, you're overwhelmed with TEXAS! The theme of the restaurant is based on the movie Giant starring Rock Hudson and Elizabeth Taylor, and there is plenty of movie memorabilia around. There are also a great deal of other Western/Texas themed items everywhere and the feeling of the restaurant is certainly an homage to upscale Texas history. Then comes the food and the grandeur disappears with the first bite. We had several different menu items and they could not have been more uninteresting. I tried tortilla soup, which is really not hard to ruin. This one, however, was a bland, watery tomato soup with little authentic flavor and nothing going for it. Then I had a club sandwich that was served on a very large, sweet bun that did not compliment the sandwich meats. Although the menu stipulated that the sandwich contained ham and turkey, there was no ham to be found, and the turkey on this sandwich was the cheapest grocery store style of cold cut. Complete disappointment. This restaurant was not cheap, and we were all dismayed by the poor quality of all the food we were served. The atmosphere is interesting, so I suggest that you come in, take a look around, and go somewhere else to eat. There are plenty of other restaurants in the area, and any of them should be better than this one!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
“vastly overated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Well done steak was red. Waiter offered to put it back on the grill AFTER I had cut it. One person in our party had to ask for silverware since none was put on his setting. Vegetables tasted like they were frozen in the grocery freezer. When I mentioned the service to the greeter on the way out. She said "Thank you and I hope you come back."

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

loved the place but felt the service not so good and the price to high for what you get. It is a great tourist place, the top level overlooking sundance square is great. For me it is a go once then try other places.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great good and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I went to Reata with family while they were visiting from out of state and wanted to take them somewhere that was very "Texas". This place definitely hit the mark - the decor was fantastic and the food was delicious. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reata Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Reata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reata Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.