We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Texas BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo's Barbque

Angelo's Barbque
2533 White Settlement Rd, Fort Worth, TX 75201-5205
(817) 332-0357
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 1,322 restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Fort Worth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“True Texas BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We go to Angelo's every month or so. The food is great and our grandson is fascinated with the animals on the walls. It keeps him occupied throughout the entire meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    45
    36
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“love this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is an iconic place in Fort Worth! When you walk in the door, you are greeted by a big ole grizzly bear. It looked much bigger when I was younger! The Chopped beef is great and the Ice cold beer in the ice cold beer makes it even better!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“It works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I'm a huge BBQ person and live in the BBQ hotbed of Texas. I'm pretty particular when it comes to my brisket and ribs. I prefer my brisket on the dry side with a nice quarter inch or so smoke ring. Ribs need to be falling off the bone. The brisket here at Angelo's was dry, but not a great cut. Smoke ring was there, but only a thin one. The overall flavor was somewhat smokey. The ribs were decent and had a slight smokey flavor. The sides were standard: beans, coleslaw, pickle, and potato salad and nothing surprising. All in all it was pretty general when it comes to flavor. I did enjoy the ambiance of the place. Perhaps I just had an off night at the place. I would try it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've been here before & the food was average & the atmosphere made you feel like you were eating in a barn!
I am born & raised in Texas so I can tell really good B-B-Q when I eat it & this wasn't!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“This is the real deal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

For a fairly large urban barbeque, this is one of the best you're ever going to find. I absolutely love real bbq and despair at the chain takeover of the smoke pit culture--especially in the cities--and rejoice when I can find a place like this that has retained its roots and stayed pure to tradition.

They still smoke their brisket over 24 hours and you should make sure you don't get there too early before last night's cookin' is ready. The ribs and the links are great, too, and the beer scooners are the coldest in Texas, of course, so you can't go wrong.

This is a true Texas treasure. Savor your time here. Five stars for taste, history, tradition, the chill of the beer and the welcome of the bear.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo's Barbque also viewed

 

Been to Angelo's Barbque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo's Barbque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.