We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Mexican place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina Laredo

Cantina Laredo
530 Throckmorton, Fort Worth, TX
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 1,345 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: zip 76102
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Not your typical Mexican place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This downtown Mexican restaurant is a treat. We looked on tripadvisor and it is highly recommended, but the map placed it on North Throkmorton on the other side of the river. When we finally found it, it was right where it should be on South Throkmorton in the heart of downtown. We started with fresh, made at the table guacamole, and visited with our waiter Rudy about the entree choices. I landed on the Piccadilly filled chile relleno served with sautéed zucchini and rice (very light and filled with beef flavored with almonds and raisins). My wife had the fajita tacos which were street vendor size and seasoned to perfection, served with cilantro and lime. Along with the tacos a side if fried rive and retried beans ( black or borracho beans are optional). We finished the evening by splitting a flan served cool with strawberry and orange slice. All was very good and the service was impeccable. A good aside is the free valet parking located on the side street and the best part is the car never moved...it was right where we left it and had two attendants watching it while they ate pizza from the place across the street, but that place will have to wait until next trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere; excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Cantina Laredo offers a quality dining experience in the heart of downtown Ft. Worth near Sundance Square. My husband and I enjoyed the clean, comfortable atmosphere. Our server was very attentive, and the menu offered a wide variety of Mexican food options. I went with the carnitas, which were excellent with a little lime and pico de gallo. I thought the chile con queso was a little bland, but the chips and salsa were great. My husband enjoyed his spinach enchiladas, although I think he would have preferred a different sauce than the sour cream topping that came with them. The portions were quite large. My plate came with 3 carnitas, which was more than I could eat in one sitting, so there was no room for dessert. I had a great mojito with my meal, which was surprisingly (and pleasantly) served in a very tall flute. My husband ordered the house margarita, which was also larger than most. Overall, this was a pleasant dining experience. I am impressed enough to return and try some of their other menu options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“2nd visit was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Id been here before and dreamt of coming back. I was on holiday and not work so was eager to introduce my wife to this great different (from standard Tex-Mex) up market Mexican cantina.

We arrived late for lunch (2pm). No problem for staff but a little quiet. The restaurant has a generic comfortable feel and any food could be served up but I was there for good mexican. We slided into a comfortable booth and had a friendly waiter describe the specials and the margaritas ( many choices of style and tequila).

My wife chose a quesidilla that was light and very tasty > I had I chimichanga dish filled with chicken and peppers, with mexican rice and roasted vegetables. Both were amazing and I was happy to come back. The margarita made it perfect! I was happy to come back and although more expensive than chain fresh mexican type of Chipolte and Baja fresh etc, the price is double for double the service and quality. Good taste and value

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would definitely visit here again! The salsa was very tasty and they were good about bringing more chips, even though our group was about 12. The food was tasty, as were the drinks, especially the Sangria! Atmosphere was very nice and service was good! Great location as well to walk to bars afterwards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best salsa! It's so flavorful unlike others that are too watery or too spicy or just boring. Our server, Rudy, was great. The margaritas are a little on the expensive side, but still very tasty. I was surprised that it was not that busy, but that could have been b/c it was Monday evening. Definitely worth a try if you are in downtown Ft. Worth!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Laredo also viewed

 

Been to Cantina Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina Laredo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.