We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a mother/daughter getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MD Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added MD Resort to your Saves list
MD Resort
601 Old Base Road, Fort Worth, TX 76078   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Fort Worth B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a mother/daughter getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A wonderful experience all around! My daughter and I went to MD Resort Vacation & Retreat Center and had a great time. Her favorite was the swing and I enjoyed having a spot to spend some quality time with my little girl! The room was wonderful. She LOVED the whirlpool tubs. The grounds were enchanting, with horses, donkeys and even a bison to go visit. Even when the weather turned misty, we had plenty to do inside to connect and enjoy each other's company. I've already recommended MD Resort to family and colleagues. Looking forward to coming back soon with my husband!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Manager at MD Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the kind words! We are so happy we were able to provide a place for you to spend some quality time with your daughter :) We'll be sure to tell the animals "hi" for you, and hopefully you'll come back soon to see them! We appreciate the time you took to write this review, it means a lot! Thank you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Managers and staff were wonderful to work with, very polite and called us by name. We stayed in the Texas Sweetheart room and found the room to be very adequate, large enough, and the bathroom clean and tidy. It was also quiet. The main house itself was large and well appointed. It has a game area/tv area for the kids upstairs as well as a nice den downstairs to watch tv (for the adults) if you prefer.

Due to dietary restrictions we required a modified meal to be made for breakfast. Staff at the B&B made every effort to assist with these changes. They were understanding and helpful. Check in and check out were easy. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Manager at MD Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Karyn,
We absolutely love to hear that you had a great time at the resort while you were here! We're all about a family environment, and with that comes the feeling of a home away from home! At least that's what we strive for; and we are glad you felt welcomed. Please come back and see us anytime, and as always, we keep the recreation room stocked and the food delicious and guest-friendly :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This B & B was a really quiet, restful spot to enjoy walking around the 37 acres, complete with a buffalo & donkeys! They have numerous facilities for a wedding or large parties. The staff is very friendly and helpful, too. There's a massage table, ping pong table, & plenty of outside activities, from a pool and jacuzzi to horse-shoes.

Room Tip: The Victorian Room is on the ground level in case you have heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at MD Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I am glad you had a great time!
See you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I bought MD Resort's Groupon as a short stay-cation idea when I needed a break from work. We used the Thursday night option and ended up being the only couple there, so we basically got the whole place to ourselves. The staff was very professional, but certainly polite and in true country hospitality. My wife and I typically prefer to stay in downtown hotels, where we have more options for things to do. This was our first B&B and were so glad we chose it. We just used all the amenities that MD Resort had to offer and never once got bored or felt like we were missing out on anything.

Room Tip: We were the only couple there that night, so I cannot really give you any tips on which room is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend this weekend and just had a wonderful time. I was a little skeptical when I got there because I had seen such glowing reviews but soon the true beauty of the place set in. The room wasn't big but was so nicely decorated and fun to stay in. It's great to spend a whole day there - it's so quiet and so relaxing. I loved seeing and feeding the animals, playing horseshoes outside and swinging in the hammock. Absolute quiet and just a beautiful property. I was here in february and it was only about 55 or 60 and it was still great! Again, the amenities aren't like a 5 star resort necessarily but the service is amazing (ice tea just sitting on the counter with fresh cookies, carrots provided to feed the animals, help with whatever you need). The breakfast was good and included, so I would definitely eat that, but the dinner prices seemed pretty expensive. I personally got food at venice pizza - about 3 miles away - and would recommend it if you're not looking for a fancy dinnner. I know take out pizza isn't romantic necessarily but is a good option for a night in watching a move. Anyway, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at MD Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I appreciate the glowing review. Just wanted to let you know for next time that we have several levels of meals from a family style dinner that is less expensive to romantic in room dinners that are well appointed and totally private. The prices very greatly but we have meals for all budgets so just ask us next time you come. And yes, we pride ourselves on giving you True Texas Hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We spent our 11th anniversary at MD Resort B&B. It was very relaxing. Not much to do except be together and get cozy. The picnic lunch was very sweet! The cross donkeys and Biscuit the buffalo were fun to feed and watch. We really enjoyed ourselves.
I don't recommend spending much time here unless you only want to be with that special person! The town is quiet and lazy with nothing much to do. But MD Resort makes a very romantic setting!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this bed and breakfast staff was extremly nice and food was really good room was nice and clean very happy with the experience will definatily will stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MD Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MD Resort

Address: 601 Old Base Road, Fort Worth, TX 76078
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MD Resort offers modern convenience with an old west atmosphere close to Fort Worth, yet is quietly secluded from the bustling workaday world. Providing the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, wedding, retreat, reunion, or special event. Antique themed rooms, two person Jacuzzi, pool, spa, hammock, recreation and conference room. Open fields and stately trees make this 37-acre ranch the perfect setting for a romantic weekend getaway, wedding, retreat, reunion, or special event whether it's for a day or a week. Antique filled theme rooms, two person jetted tubs, tree swings, and outdoor recreation games. Enjoy any one of MD Resort's worry-free all-inclusive vacation packages, or we can customize a package for you. Things to consider for your vacation: hayrides, hot tub, video library, massage, picnic baskets, romantic in-room dinners, lovers snack tray, a fresh bouquet of flowers, elegant gift basket, horse-drawn carriage ride, miniature donkeys and our mascot "Biscuit" the buffalo, and much more. You are sure to enjoy your relaxing and fun getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your MD Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Md Resort Bed And Breakfast
Md Hotel Fort Worth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MD Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.