We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price of admission....which was free” 2 of 5 stars
Review of National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame

National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame
1720 Gendy St., Fort Worth, TX 76107 (Cultural District)
817 336 4475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 72 Attractions in Fort Worth
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum honoring women rodeo champions.
Wooster, Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not worth the price of admission....which was free”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

Visited the cowgirl museum while we were at the stock show. Admission was free with rodeo ticket. What amazed me was the lack of actual museum exhibits. Most of the museum was filled with student artwork submitted for the stock show. The cattle raisers museum next door was better but still not what I had hoped.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    8
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Felt something was missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Such a beautiful building to house a museum. Loved the holograms set under the balustrade of the first floor railing. I have never seen this done before. The displays were interesting but I was expecting more on the earlier well known women of the west such as Annie Oakley, Calamity Jane, Charley Pankhurst & Ellen L Watson. Perhaps they didn't really fit the criteria of what constitutes a "cowgirl"? I also thought there may have been sections that dwelt on Indian and African American women or maybe there were none that fit the "cowgirl" label?. Overall, it was a pleasant way to spend a few hours on a very cold day and the lady on the admissions desk was lovely.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Grand building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

The building sure doesn't look like it would house a cowgirl museum. The displays are mostly on the 2nd floor, so not much of the building is used for the actual museum.

That said, we enjoyed it. For more than an hour we wandered through, looking at photos, reading the explanations, watching the movies. Just about everything we know about cowgirls we learned here. We thought it was well worth the time and the ticket cost.

The parking was rather expensive, so we'd recommend coming early enough in the day to leave the car right there and walk to the art museums and other attractions in the area. Or better still, park up north beyond the art museums on city streets in a neighborhood and walk back. It's a nice place to stroll.

We visited on a weekday in mid December, which was a good choice because every museum and other attraction we visited in the DFW area was nearly empty.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Proud of these women”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We spent over a hour reading about a group of women dating back to the early 1800s of all color and creed called Cowgirls. The most famous being Dale Evans. However, the other woman in this museum achieved the honor of being the best in their chosen life style. The videos, clothing, photos, their voice, song and stories are amazing. Some day I hope to bring my granddaughter to visit this place. While not big, it is potent and makes me proud to be a Texan ... and a former cowgirl.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, CA.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Saddle-up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I had not thought about cowgirls since my youth, when a beautiful cowgirl named Dale Evans, used to gallop across our TV screen with a handsome cowboy named, Roy Rogers. When we stepped into the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame, in Ft. Worth, TX., yesterday, I was awakened to the past and present history of these stalwart, trail blazers. Women who rode in cattle drives, disguised as men. Trick performers doing acrobatic moves on galloping horses. Cowgirls diving into too small pools on the back of a steed stretched out like an Olympic diver. Ranchers managing acres of land and many head of cattle. Women boot and saddle makers, philanthropists, movie stunt women, Western clothing designers and makers, painters, photographers, and writers. All things Western and all things women. A museum not to be missed if you get the opportunity to visit what is still referred to as Cow Town.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.