We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe T's South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperanza's Mexican Cafe and Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Esperanza's Mexican Cafe and Bakery
1601 Park Place Avenue, Fort Worth, TX 76110
(817) 923-1992
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 1,345 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
ft worth
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Joe T's South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sister place to the sister place next to the real Joe T's, which is the standard by which all Mexican food needs to be judged. You know the food is going to be authentic when English is everyone's second language.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Favorite place for Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hands down, this is the consistently the best Mexican food we've ever had. As a matter of fact, even after we moved out of state, we always make it a point to eat at this Esperanza's.

The service for us has always been pleasant - but it can get loud when they have a full house - brunch, etc. Still, the food in my opinion is unmatched - try the carnitas, Huevos Rancheros, Migas, or the beef fajitas!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another Icon in Fort Worth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you like Mexican food and tradition, this is a must place to try. Great original Mexican food, plus it has a Panaderia with the yet the best Tres leches cake. With my Asian origins, this is also the place to get honest to goodness Chicharon with some meat on it. They are as crunchy as the pork rind version but with more substance. If you prefer something more Fusion, go to Joe T. Garcia - not too far away. I believe these 2 are related, so lots of good food tradition here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hot sauce, at least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Jam packed with people not minding poor service or getting their ears pierced by numerous loud shrill children across the room. No refills on any items at all, and one item never delivered. Unhappy waiter. Bacon similar to Beggin Strips. I could go on, but I won't!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Major disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had a party planned here and were very disappointed in the arrangements, food, service, noise level and cleanliness of dishes. Reservation set up was not as promised and follow up emails have all been ignored. Will not ever have a party here again. Not sure we will dine there either after seeing the filthy dishes and the staff simply wipe them off and use them.
Richard the manager was nice but the arrangements were out of his control as the owner overbooked the place. They were cramming way too many people into this place in a short period of time and should not promise what they can't deliver.
I don't know what happened the night of our event but it was very different from our normal dining experiences at this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esperanza's Mexican Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Esperanza's Mexican Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperanza's Mexican Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.