We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free cookies!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 Mercado Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #57 of 100 hotels in Fort Worth
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Free cookies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our 2 week trip to Texas in May 2013. Although we did not have a car, the hotel shuttle ferried us to and from the Stockyards and downtown Fort Worth. The hotel is located midway between the two, probably 1.5 -2 miles from the Stockyards and a similar distance from downtown. We had an excellent view of the downtown skyscrapers from our room. The accommodation was fine, our room was a good size with two large beds, Their is a pool available although we did not see anyone using it. The hotel provides a buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Their is free coffee available all day and the best part for us - free cookies. All in all, a good value hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear PeterandJanrock,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Fort Worth. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed our cookies. We really hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
21
31
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Large, clean & comfortable room. Nice amenities: WiFi, big flat screen TV, etc. Very good breakfast selections and options. Complimentary papers Ft Worth Star Telegram (actually a fairly decent paper) & USA Today. Nice carpeting & tile & wood floor in common areas. Helpful staff. Warm chocolate chip or raisin-oat cookies. Very close to downtown and Stockyards. Call or check website for best directions (exit 53 north or south on I-35W, I believe). Great view of downtown skyscrpaers from the southernly facing rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you get good driving directions before heading out to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Gary C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself in Fort Worth. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We really appreciate all of our business travelers. Thanks again for the review. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, TX
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked the hotel for guests at our daughters wedding and one reason we booked this hotel was because they told us they offered a shuttle to and from the Stockyards, well our wedding was on a Sunday and they knew that, so when my daughter went to ask for the shuttle at 10.00pm she was told we do not run the shuttle on Sunday night, so they all had to get cabs.

The room was so so , the shower rail was broken off the wall and was difficult not to get water on the floor in the bathroom.

Breakfast was so so also, they never kept the food full, had to ask a couple of times when they had ran out of items, two woman as working the breakfast room and they were not a patch on the young girl who served breakfast at the Holiday Inn Express in Las Cruses last week.

So overall it was average, would I stay their again, NO. I stay in hotels 100 nights a year and this was mediocre compared to most hotels I stay in, the hotel needs a face lift.

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear mhinprocess01,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience that you incurred with the shuttle. Thank you for also telling us about the breakfast service. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is well situated for visiting all the main areas to see in Fort Worth. There is a comfortable lobby with a fireplace, free cookies and coffee and tea on tap. We were able to reach the cultural district, the stockyards and Sundance Square without any difficulty. Our room was well equipped, large and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding with an interesting range of foods including a pot of fresh porridge with lots of yummy toppings. There was actual fruit available which we found a pleasant change. There is a great Mexican restaurant next door which is really handy for staggering back after a couple of margaritas! There is some background noise from the freeway nearby which is the reason for 4 stars not 5.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Hilary A,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in Fort Worth. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Second time I have stayed here. Booked the 'whirlpool suite' and it turned into a disaster. Hotel is in obvious disrepair - crown/chair/floor/door moulding peeling off of the walls, graffiti carved into elevator walls, torn and frayed carpet everywhere. As for the suite itself, it rivals $40.00 per night rooms I have visited. Frame of (obviously purchased at Big Lots!) 4-post bed severely bent with an 'off-white substance' on one post. Large red handprint on wall with matching prints on furniture. Few foot-long strings handing from the top of bed. Toilet runs and gives you a shower when you open the lid to determine why. I made the mistake of firing up my handy-dandy UV light to inspect those stains and substances on bed/floor/wall - they lit up the place like a Jackson Pollock painting!

We report problem to desk and ask for another room. The person at desk, who SEVERELY needs to grow a personality, doesn't ask why - she demands to know why. After the above list she hems and haws but relents and puts us in another. I think to ask about a reduction in rate (that suite commands a $40 premium) and, after hemming and hawing again, demands I pay the regular rate for whatever I'm put into. No discount for my trouble and ruined plans, no matching what everyone ELSE in my group paid for a room (another $40 off of what I was charged), not even an apology for my trouble! Just a demand to bring back the other key cards immediately.

New room greets me with large black stains on the carpet in the sitting area and I decide to lower my standards with this place. Only bright spot was a decently comfortable bed once the (obviously stained, lights up under UV) bedspread was moved to a safe location.

Made a complaint to corporate, waiting for hotel to reply. Don't expect much. Sad thing is, I had this trouble the first time I stayed with them. Fool me twice...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
At the Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth we value all guest feedback. Without feedback we would not be able to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. When issues come up we do what we can to make it right with the guest. The General Manager has reached out to this guest regarding this issue. The guest was given resonable compensation for the the difference between the rooms they stayed in. The General Manager has also addressed the issues the guest had with the rooms they stayed in. The Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth strives to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place for all of our guests to stay in. We really appreciate the Trip Advisor community providing us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooks, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For the price I would of expected a better hotel. It was dated. The carpet needs updated and the bathroom really did. The bed did sleep well and it was clean. The breakfast buffet was very very good. The front desk was okay just not terribly friendly or helpful. The shuttle driver that delivered us to Billy Bob's and picked us up at the front door made everything worth it though. He was great and informative and very quick to get us. If you are wanting something close to the Stockyards and don't want to drive this is the place for you but if you don't mind driving a little ways there is better choices just a little further out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear TinTexas,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us about all of your concerns. We will make sure that we discuss these issues with our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We needed some advice before we checked in about our location and what do u think to do but call our hotel and ask the front desk , usually in all my hotel stays they are more than willing to help , well not this one , one thing that can ruin my stay as well as as my friends is attitude , so even the nice room and location and breakfast did not help our mood on the hotel , wouldn't recommend if u don't have your own game plan and need no questions answered , other than that it was good . Hope she's having a better week maybe ...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth

Address: 2200 Mercado Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 100 hotels in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Fort Worth Hotel Fort Worth
Country Inn And Suites Fort Worth
Country Inn Fort Worth
Fort Worth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Fort Worth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.