We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good, fried shimp is the best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
2913 Montgomery Street, Fort Worth, TX
817-989-2277
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 1,270 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always good, fried shimp is the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We eat here every time we get a coupon. It's a bit of a drive for us, but the coupon really makes it worth the trip. We have sampled many items on the menu, but I think the fried shrimp is my favorite. It's on par with Capt. Benney's in Houston, if you have ever eaten there. The grilled and boiled are also excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun, casual, great food, and always consistent with what they do. I love the fish stories and photos on the wall too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Everything is fresh it seems. The only thing I don't like is the long line that always exist, but then again, if their were no line I probably would not be writing this review!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent the day at the Ft. Worth Zoo and needed dinner close by. The Flying Fish was close and has great reviews and they were spot on!!! My spouse ordered the fried catfish and shrimp combo and enjoyed every bite. He is a fisherman and is very picky about his catfish. His fish was fried just right, the simple cornmeal batter was just right etc. Yumm. Son and daughter-in-law ordered crab legs and the frog legs. They ate everybite and kept saying how much better the crab was than the ones at Joe's Crab shack. The frog legs were tender and tasty. I ordered the gumbo with grits, yumm, spicy, but not too much. The only negative I had was the lemonaide was way too sweet and they ran out of key lime pie, We look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice, laid back, seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great gumbo and fried fish. Meal seams to be prepared quickly regardless of the crowdn. Can be crowded in the evenings, though and parking pretty much stinks if it is busy--it seems the restaurants in the area don't see the benefit to sharing their lots with the competition, even though their offerings are completely differen from one another.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Glad I found this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Simple done well. Fries weren't too greasy, hush puppies were solid, and the batter on the my 6 fried jumbo shrimp was great. Anyone in line will have 2 or 3 favorites to recommend. Will be heading back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.