We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LightCatcher Winery & Bistro

LightCatcher Winery & Bistro
6925 Confederate Park Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76108
8172372626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 1,322 restaurants in Fort Worth
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, French, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a boutique Texas winery, producing wines made with grapes grown on the Texas High Plains. We offer styles to suit all palates, from sweet to smooth and fruity to big dry reds.Our four acres of oak-treed grounds include the winery, Pavilion and elevated flagstone Terrace (protected and umbrella-ed outdoor seating), herb and vegetable gardens, lawns and a small demonstration vineyard.Indoor seating is in our Barrel Room where our wines are aging in barrels.Wine Tastings are done in our Tasting Room, where there is also additional seating for light bites with wine. Please see our Bistro and Winery hours.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Having been to many of D/FW's finest restaurants, I was not expecting much from this bistro located out by Azle. Had a wine tasting before dinner. Had brie and crab cake for appetizers. Had the salmon entree, and creme brûlée. Food was excellent! Service very attentive. Atmosphere casual. Loved the entire experience, and will definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    15
    3
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aledo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great 1/2 LB Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Three of us went for eats and a jazz concert. My table mates tried a cheese snack platter and I tried the classic 1/2 lb burger. I think this might have been the best burger I have ever eaten. The snack platter had a lot of variety and plenty for two people. The entertainment was great as well. We will be back for sure

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCaris, Owner at LightCatcher Winery & Bistro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for the review - glad you enjoyed our burger! We listen to what you have to say - if there's anything else you'd like to see on the menu, let us know. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Left Hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The service was very slow and inattentive, the amount of food for the price we paid was ridiculous. They had no bread for anyone at 6:30. Took the food forever to get to the table and there was not enough to fill you up. The taste of the food was good, but not outstanding. My husband came hungry and I was not exactly full. For the price, not worth it!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCaris, Owner at LightCatcher Winery & Bistro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We'd like to apologize again for the bread booboo - we had some problems that night we should have dealt with a different way, and will be from now on. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

re your disappointment/leaving hungry.... Perhaps you might consider ordering a main course next time you visit - they offer a lot more than the appetizers.

Yes, we're more expensive than casual eateries, but still a good 20% under restaurants that offer comparable food, and in an authentic winery setting. We hope you'll give us a try again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They have excellent food. It is a bit more money than any other restaurant around here, but the food is fantastic, the service is excellent, and the wine is excellent. The atmosphere is very cozy surrounded by wine barrels, candlelight, and low lighting. Very romantic and intimate. It is good to go with another couple or just your spouse. Very nice to have so close to home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCaris, Owner at LightCatcher Winery & Bistro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're so pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer. See our website for updates to what we're doing, both with wine and food. Summer 2013 will see some new wines and new food stylings. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Good with a nice athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visited using a groupon, and unlike many of the other reviews we had absolutely no issues. It is surprising how easy it is when you just follow the instructions...we also went the day before it expired but we did make a reservation at least a week in advance.

Anyways, the food was delicious and the staff was very good, efficient and knowledgeable. I really enjoyed the crab cake and pork chop and my wife loved the pear salad and the duck was excellent. We did try the brownie dessert and it was just OK, they had other desserts that we should have tried. The wines were good and to clarify from an early post we were not told we had to buy bottle water. Their butter was unique and delicious and we loved the bread (even though the napkin caught on fire when it was placed a little too close to the candle!). We will definitely return. This place is worth the short drive into the country.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCaris, Owner at LightCatcher Winery & Bistro, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting, and for your kind words. We've made changes to the dessert menu, and have replaced the brownie with a chocolate mousse. :-) We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LightCatcher Winery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to LightCatcher Winery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LightCatcher Winery & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.