We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Collection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amon Carter Museum of American Art

Amon Carter Museum of American Art
3501 Camp Bowie Blvd., Fort Worth, TX 76107
817-738-1933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 72 Attractions in Fort Worth
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by renowned architect Philip Johnson, the Amon Carter Museum of American Art houses a preeminent collection of nineteenth-and twentieth-century painting, sculpture, and works on paper, and it is one of the nation's major repositories of American photography. It is also home to nearly 400 works by Frederic Remington and Charles M. Russell, the two greatest artists of the American West. Museum Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; Thursday 'til 8:00 p.m.; Sunday 12:00 to 5:00 p.m.; Closed Mondays and major holidays
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent a few hours in this museum which is a gem. I prefer museums that are not gargantuan so that you can enjoy the offering without worrying about chosing what to see.

The Remington paintings were my favorites as I really enjoyed the precision of the art.

Also, it is really nice that the museum is free at all times.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    40
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and Attractive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I liked the museum but it was kinda dirty for my liking. There was trash on the floor and we was rushed out of the bldg. at closing time. Everything else I enjoyed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a gift to people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

just imagine, it's free and truly beautiful the exhibits are always interesting and so "artfully" displayed

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The True Flavor of Cowtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Amon Carter Museum of American Art captures the essence of Ft Worth, a city that both strives to appear "cutting edge" as well as embrace its rough'n'tumble origins. The Amon Carter offers a wonderful collection of Russell and Remingtons, but what I love most is that the museum is free to the public, making art available to anyone interested in taking the time to see it. While I've been to the ACMAA less often than the Kimbell and Modern, I've found the staff at the Amon Carter much more hospitable and friendly than the other museums, and much more welcoming.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Western Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Amon Carter Museum of western art. We especially like viewing their collection of Russell and Remington Paintings and sculptures. This weekend they had a special exhibit on the history of color photography. I wish they would have shown more Elliot Porter color photographs. The museum is free and a special treat to all people who love great art and photography.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amon Carter Museum of American Art also viewed

 

Been to Amon Carter Museum of American Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amon Carter Museum of American Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.