We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best suites in DFW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockyards Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stockyards Hotel to your Saves list
Stockyards Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Fort Worth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best suites in DFW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Stockyards Hotel in Fort Worth is a classic. A legend. And the celebrity suite is one of the most unique in the entire North Texas region. It's spacious. Has a hot tub, the best location in the hotel, which is in the best location in Fort Worth, and comes with quite a legacy to boot. I mean, Willie Nelson stays here for crying out loud. This is a fantastic value and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: It's got to be a suite here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for the unique description of the hotel. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    48
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
15
73
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the delightful Bonnie & Clyde room. It's a large corner room. Claw foot bathtub/shower fits the 1930 theme but may not be for everyone. Comfortable bed. Lots of windows. Friendly staff. Nice bar and class A restaurant downstairs. We will stay there again when we come back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are extremely glad you enjoyed staying in the Bonnie & Clyde room. The room makes you feel like a real outlaw. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurst, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an old hotel with much history. It's almost as if it was you are visiting a hotel from the old west with western and Texas decor. We stayed in the Celebrity suite in which was an outstanding room from a convenience and amenities point of view. It is on the same floor as the hotel lobby. The door is located directly across the hall from the restaurant/bar, just in case you have too much to drink and can't walk very far. It has a living area, nice bath, great bedroom, patio area w/hot tub and wet bar area. The Stockyards overall is a great place to getaway and spend a weekend experiencing our great Texas culture. Better make reservations early, otherwise you won't be able to get a room. And oh yea, don't forget your Cowboy hat and boots!

Room Tip: Celebrity suite.....you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your comments and glad to hear you enjoyed our historic hotel. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Stockyard Hotel as a weekend celebration and if you are looking for an authentic visit to the "Old West" this is the place to stay. Very small hotel decorated in western theme and lots of leather. Upon check in, you are given an actual room key (not the plastic swipe keys) I do think they could benefit from placing a key ring on the key itself, no telling how many of these have been lost. We stayed in the Outlaw room which was located at the end of the hall on the second floor. While the room was large, it was located on Main Street and was very noisy at night. The noise primarily was road noise from cars driving on the brick road and the sound of many motorcycles. There are two large windows however, they do have wooden shutters covering them which really makes the room dark however, I believe it may be an attempt to shut out some of the road noise. Bathroom could be updated but, was clean and sufficient. LARGE wooden armoire with built in closet housed the flat screen tv too . The benefit to staying here is the convenience to restaurants, rodeo, and several bars all located on the same street! Not to mention, the shopping of any western wear item you are looking for. For an upscale dining experience you must get reservations at Tim Love's Lonesome Dove. Excellent steaks and appetizers, the concierge was able to get us reservations later than the ones we were able to make on our own. Be sure and stop at the hotel bar and "saddle up" for a drink on the bar stools that are indeed saddles. Other must go to: White Elephant Saloon and Love Shack for live entertainment and great burgers!! For out of towners there is even a daily longhorn cattle drive.

Room Tip: ASk for a room to the back of the hotel and not street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. Have a great week and we look forward to having you or y'all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We return here every February for a special anniversary. We are western/horse people & enjoy the scenery, the feel, the history of the building & the stockyards. I recommend staying in room 205 the "Cowboy Corner". It's two levels above the street overlooking Main & Exchange. Great for people watching. You pull up valet takes your vehicle, you can walk to many stores, restaurants, the train depot, bars & even the rodeo. It is a bit pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in room 205 the "Cowboy Corner". It's two levels above the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate your comments. Thanks for staying with us for your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I wanted to treat my husband to a cowboy themed stay and the Stockyards Hotel was the perfect place to stay. The room was rustic in that it was a no frills room but yet met all of our needs for the night. There were old pictures of bobcats and animals on the walls. Electric lanterns swayed above the king-sized wooden post bed. Only a few things bugged me in that the large wooden entertainment set served two purposes. One, a closet on both sides and the other was the t.v. was located in the middle and if you opened the door to see the t.v., it blocked the closet so that was a little awkward. Another thing was the narrow bench at the foot of the bed. I sat on the corner and nearly flipped off. There was barely any room for my behind and it was very unsturdy. Also, the bathroom counter was very small and served as a coffee bar, too. I hardly had any room for my toiletries. The bathroom was very narrow, but it seemed old-fashioned in that there was a pull chain on the water box above the toilet that was used to flush the toilet. The curbside valet and front desk were laid back, but helpful in getting us checked in and out of our rooms. We slept comfortably, but around 6:00 in the morning the people above us were up and we could hear them stomping around. We did walk to Billy Bob's in the evening and had a very nice time watching the local college students line dance. There are restaurants and bars all around. My husband enjoyed the old-time feeling in the lobby and room in general. I think he'd definitely return to this hotel. Our view was of the rooftop one floor below.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the street noise, ask for a room not on the street side, but your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You go to this hotel for the atmosphere and except for the information on the walls it is fairly average.
The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable but decor was more tacky than authentic.
Staff were fine and the salmon in the restaurant was excellent but the rest of the meal was average

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bonny and Clyde suite and it was fine if uninspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockyards Hotel

Address: 109 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stockyards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic site, it has been a home away from home for rich cattle barons, country-music stars, and even an outlaw or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stockyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockyards Hotel Fort Worth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockyards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.