We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich with history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockyards Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stockyards Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stockyards Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 99 Hotels in Fort Worth
Mesquite, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rich with history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We return here every February for a special anniversary. We are western/horse people & enjoy the scenery, the feel, the history of the building & the stockyards. I recommend staying in room 205 the "Cowboy Corner". It's two levels above the street overlooking Main & Exchange. Great for people watching. You pull up valet takes your vehicle, you can walk to many stores, restaurants, the train depot, bars & even the rodeo. It is a bit pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in room 205 the "Cowboy Corner". It's two levels above the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate your comments. Thanks for staying with us for your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    47
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
14
71
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spring Branch, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I wanted to treat my husband to a cowboy themed stay and the Stockyards Hotel was the perfect place to stay. The room was rustic in that it was a no frills room but yet met all of our needs for the night. There were old pictures of bobcats and animals on the walls. Electric lanterns swayed above the king-sized wooden post bed. Only a few things bugged me in that the large wooden entertainment set served two purposes. One, a closet on both sides and the other was the t.v. was located in the middle and if you opened the door to see the t.v., it blocked the closet so that was a little awkward. Another thing was the narrow bench at the foot of the bed. I sat on the corner and nearly flipped off. There was barely any room for my behind and it was very unsturdy. Also, the bathroom counter was very small and served as a coffee bar, too. I hardly had any room for my toiletries. The bathroom was very narrow, but it seemed old-fashioned in that there was a pull chain on the water box above the toilet that was used to flush the toilet. The curbside valet and front desk were laid back, but helpful in getting us checked in and out of our rooms. We slept comfortably, but around 6:00 in the morning the people above us were up and we could hear them stomping around. We did walk to Billy Bob's in the evening and had a very nice time watching the local college students line dance. There are restaurants and bars all around. My husband enjoyed the old-time feeling in the lobby and room in general. I think he'd definitely return to this hotel. Our view was of the rooftop one floor below.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the street noise, ask for a room not on the street side, but your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You go to this hotel for the atmosphere and except for the information on the walls it is fairly average.
The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable but decor was more tacky than authentic.
Staff were fine and the salmon in the restaurant was excellent but the rest of the meal was average

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bonny and Clyde suite and it was fine if uninspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This Hotel was our last stop on our road trip and we decided to splurge ! It's not cheap but it does nearly everything right. It has a Great Cowboy Feel and fits in perfectly with the location. There are Themed Bars and Rooms. We stayed next door to the Bonnie & Clyde Room were the notorious bandits stayed back in the 30's and took a room that had a view both ways up the main street to lookout for the Feds ! Booger Reds Saloon is an old style cowboy bar with several Horse Saddle Seats at the bar and a fun atmosphere. The front desk staff and valets were all friendly & helpful and we got a late night tour of the Hotel by the night manager who wanted to show off his beloved Hotel and he imparted the history of the place to us. It is a late night area but we didn't have any dramas with the bars across the road and got a good nights rest. Late checkout was another bonus as our flight wasn't till early evening. The only negative I could see was the lack of a fridge , Management might look at that ? Otherwise it is a real good choice in Fort Worth and well worth the extra as everything is a short stroll from the door !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Stockyards Hotel on a visit to the DFW area. We had our two young grandchildren in tow and they loved the authentic Western feel of the place. We stayed in the Davy Crockett Suite which gave us a little extra space so as not to be cramped. The beds were extremely comfortable, there was no street noise but there was an uncomfortably loud hum at the "sitting area" of the room which I guess had something to do with the heating/ac generators. True Texas hospitality came from every person we encountered at the hotel. If you are expecting polish...you won't be happy. If you are expecting rustic elegance...you'll love it! Breakfast in the adjoining bar area was excellent - don't pass up the pancakes...best ever! Our evening meal at the connecting restaurant H3 area was superb. We had smoked sirloin, corn on the cob and baked potato along with chicken fried steak and we had no complaints. The location is awesome...easy walk to all the shops, restaurants and daily cattle drive (don't miss...they do it twice daily). Our ONLY disappointment was the required valet parking. The valets were absolutely fabulous but it was a pain if you needed to go get something you left in your car (you can't...valet has to go do it for you) and if you planned on making a couple of trips out of the stockyard area in a day it was tedious having to wait to have the car brought to you and if you arrive back at the hotel during checkin or checkout times it was oftentimes difficult to even park in front of the hotel to leave with the valet. Parking on the street was pretty much a no-go but then again we were there over the new years' weekend so there was probably more than normal crowds. All in all....it was an A+ stay at the hotel and we promised the grandchildren we will definitely do this again!

Room Tip: Davy Crockett Suite is on the top floor so there is no overhead noise from other guests and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband were traveling to San Antonio and decided to stop in Fort Worth for an overnight. A quick phone call answered by a very pleasant staff quickly got us a room at this wonderfully warm, very red hotel. The food at the hotel restaurant "H3" was good the wait staff friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front of the hotel which overlooks the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great hotel with true historic western feel and great service. Walk out the front yard into the stockyards for loads of fun at the cool shops and bars. And Billy Bob's, the biggest honky tonk in the world, is just around the corner and allows for super convenient walking should you enjoy a night of dancing and adult-beverages. Super fun place to stay!

Room Tip: Cowboy Corner Suite was awesome...great view of the stockyards and very cool decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stockyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockyards Hotel

Address: 109 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stockyards Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic site, it has been a home away from home for rich cattle barons, country-music stars, and even an outlaw or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Stockyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockyards Hotel Fort Worth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockyards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.