We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but somewhat overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stockyards Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stockyards Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stockyards Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 100 hotels in Fort Worth
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fine, but somewhat overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You go to this hotel for the atmosphere and except for the information on the walls it is fairly average.
The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable but decor was more tacky than authentic.
Staff were fine and the salmon in the restaurant was excellent but the rest of the meal was average

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bonny and Clyde suite and it was fine if uninspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
63
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This Hotel was our last stop on our road trip and we decided to splurge ! It's not cheap but it does nearly everything right. It has a Great Cowboy Feel and fits in perfectly with the location. There are Themed Bars and Rooms. We stayed next door to the Bonnie & Clyde Room were the notorious bandits stayed back in the 30's and took a room that had a view both ways up the main street to lookout for the Feds ! Booger Reds Saloon is an old style cowboy bar with several Horse Saddle Seats at the bar and a fun atmosphere. The front desk staff and valets were all friendly & helpful and we got a late night tour of the Hotel by the night manager who wanted to show off his beloved Hotel and he imparted the history of the place to us. It is a late night area but we didn't have any dramas with the bars across the road and got a good nights rest. Late checkout was another bonus as our flight wasn't till early evening. The only negative I could see was the lack of a fridge , Management might look at that ? Otherwise it is a real good choice in Fort Worth and well worth the extra as everything is a short stroll from the door !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Stockyards Hotel on a visit to the DFW area. We had our two young grandchildren in tow and they loved the authentic Western feel of the place. We stayed in the Davy Crockett Suite which gave us a little extra space so as not to be cramped. The beds were extremely comfortable, there was no street noise but there was an uncomfortably loud hum at the "sitting area" of the room which I guess had something to do with the heating/ac generators. True Texas hospitality came from every person we encountered at the hotel. If you are expecting polish...you won't be happy. If you are expecting rustic elegance...you'll love it! Breakfast in the adjoining bar area was excellent - don't pass up the pancakes...best ever! Our evening meal at the connecting restaurant H3 area was superb. We had smoked sirloin, corn on the cob and baked potato along with chicken fried steak and we had no complaints. The location is awesome...easy walk to all the shops, restaurants and daily cattle drive (don't miss...they do it twice daily). Our ONLY disappointment was the required valet parking. The valets were absolutely fabulous but it was a pain if you needed to go get something you left in your car (you can't...valet has to go do it for you) and if you planned on making a couple of trips out of the stockyard area in a day it was tedious having to wait to have the car brought to you and if you arrive back at the hotel during checkin or checkout times it was oftentimes difficult to even park in front of the hotel to leave with the valet. Parking on the street was pretty much a no-go but then again we were there over the new years' weekend so there was probably more than normal crowds. All in all....it was an A+ stay at the hotel and we promised the grandchildren we will definitely do this again!

Room Tip: Davy Crockett Suite is on the top floor so there is no overhead noise from other guests and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband were traveling to San Antonio and decided to stop in Fort Worth for an overnight. A quick phone call answered by a very pleasant staff quickly got us a room at this wonderfully warm, very red hotel. The food at the hotel restaurant "H3" was good the wait staff friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front of the hotel which overlooks the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great hotel with true historic western feel and great service. Walk out the front yard into the stockyards for loads of fun at the cool shops and bars. And Billy Bob's, the biggest honky tonk in the world, is just around the corner and allows for super convenient walking should you enjoy a night of dancing and adult-beverages. Super fun place to stay!

Room Tip: Cowboy Corner Suite was awesome...great view of the stockyards and very cool decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Really great stay, everyone was really welcoming, we had trouble booking online but the staff were helpful and we confirmed our reservation by email. The hotel restaurant 'H3' was really good too - tasty steak (amazing) and ribs (yum). I would recommend a visit to get into the cowboy spirit, y'all!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a cool place to stay. The hotel really feels like a step back in time and we loved it. As evryone else has said it is great from the staff to the service. The beds were amazing. So glad we were able to carve out one night to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockyardsHotel1907, Manager at Stockyards Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stockyards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockyards Hotel

Also Known As:
Stockyards Hotel Fort Worth
Address: 109 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
#33 Family Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stockyards Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic site, it has been a home away from home for rich cattle barons, country-music stars, and even an outlaw or two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Stockyards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockyards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.