We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and awesome staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 South University Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76107 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #66 of 101 Hotels in Fort Worth
Harker Heights, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and awesome staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent a few days in Fort Worth and this hotel was a great location, located just a mile from the zoo. the staff was awesome...very friendly and helpful. This is an older residence inn, but very comfortable for the family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan T, Property Coordinator at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Mustang Larry,


The staff, management team and I all thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us and everyone else know about your enjoyable experience at the Residence Inn.

Although, we are an older property, we do take in pride in knowing that our staff is the main reason why our guests keep returning to our property. I forward this review to all the appropriate managers which I'm sure they would be proud to read.

If you are ever in the area again, please let me know. We would love to be able to take care of you again!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    32
    27
    16
See reviews for
62
10
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cushing, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a free night through Marriott Rewards, though it was based on the smallest room, we had three nights in two bedroom suites and needed that larger size for our last and free night. The rewards company would not approve the larger room, after speaking with a supervisor with Marriott reservations, she called and the hotels manager approved us to stay there in the larger two room suite! Will be a great place after they remodel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan T, Property Coordiantor at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Starla B for your feedback!

Our hotel staff thanks you for you taking the time to write a great review about our hotel. We have explained to our staff that if there is anything we can do to make the stay of a guest more enjoyable, we do it!

It's nice to recieve feedback from our past guests to let us know that you are being taken care of during your stay.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to havig you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We'd spent a long day driving, and this hotel is just off the freeway, but very close to the zoo and the fine arts district. It was great having room to spread out, and the little village-like layout of the complex was pleasant even though it was on a busy street. Staff was welcoming. There were places to get food right across the street, and it was just a short drive to the art museums, which were open on Friday night, and were the reason we picked this place and decided to stop in Fort Worth for the night. Breakfast was included. The kitchen, which we didn't cook in, was nicely equipped, and we were glad to have the wine glasses! I was impressed with the use of space, and the set up that the table could also be used as a business desk. We were very pleased, and in the morning also enjoyed a short walk along the river walk that is adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Even though we were quite close to the busy street, our room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan T, Property Coordinator at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Linnea H.,

Thank you for taking the time write a review about our hotel! We appreciate the feedback. Our staff and I continue to look for ways to improve our hotel and we thank you for all your kind words. We are happy to know that our location was to your liking and we do hope that you choose to stay with us again when you are in the Fort Worth University area.

When you choose to stay with us again, please contact the hotel and let us know. We would love to put in a room with a great view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited Fort Worth with our teenaged daughter recently for four nights and chose this Residence Inn for its sleeping arrangements- a bedroom downstairs with a loft and second bathroom upstairs. It was perfect for us as my husband and I had privacy as did our daughter. We didn't use the kitchen but it would be very convenient for longer stays or if a group had small children. The unit was kept spotless, the beds were comfortable, it was quiet (ask for a unit not facing University), the front desk was friendly and helpful.

We had stayed at this hotel years ago and found the maintenance very good. The decor is not the latest in the rooms but for comfort and convenience we would pick this property again over a Sundance Square luxury hotel we have used on previous trips to Fort Worth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan T, Property Coordinator at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member from New Hampshire,


Thank you so much for sharing your kind words with us! I have read your review and it's amazing feedback and I have passed it along as well to the appropriate managers as well as the General Manager.

We would like to thank you for being loyal to the Residence Inn University property and we hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you again from the Residence Inn Fort Worth University Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springtown, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our yearly convention in fort worth and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Morgan at the front desk was extremely helpful and kind. We stayed in a loft suite. The beds were really comfortable with lots of pillows and blankets. The a.c. worked great. Only a few minor cosmetic things you notice over time but really those things didn't matter. We enjoyed going to the pool every evening. The pool area was equipped with a chair lift for for older or disabled ones. It also had a nice grill for guest use. They have a basketball court as well. We loved the breakfast buffet every morning. The office had a small business center with a computer and printer for guests. Housekeeping did an excellent job on our room every day. We are very pleased with our stay and look forward to coming back to stay every summer for our convention.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan T, Property Coordinator at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback about our hotel!

I enjoyed your appreciation of the hotel as well as the staff. I have shared your compiments to our staff and managers and have passed your comments along to our corporate offices.

Thnak you again for taking the time to share your pleasant experience with us. I hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at the Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza for a short business trip in June 2013. Monica was notable for her helpful attitude at the front desk. Service was welcoming at check-in and throughout the day. Breakfast and evening dinner staff was attentive. The property is a series of two story bungalows with several studio apartments per building. The property is near Texas Christian University (TCU) in Fort Worth and adjacent to a river. The river view is peaceful and has a nice walkway for strolling. The hotel is worn though. Maintenance has occurred but the property is tired. My room had two double beds, a few burn marks on the sink but otherwise everything worked. The stucco outside my room was a bit broken up near the base of the wall. The parking lot cement was potholed some. Quite a few boards had been replaced on the landing next to the door of my room (good idea), but that change underscored the maintenance war that is being waged at the property, not always successfully. As this is an older property there are fewer electrical plugs than a newer property. If service wasn't as good as it is I would change properties next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan T, Property Coordinator at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
My name is Maegan and I am the property coordinator for the Residence Inn Fort Worth University.

I apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced due to the condition of the hotel. Please be assured that that our highest priority is the satisfaction of our guests. I have addressed your concerns with the Chief Engineer, who has also asked me to extend his apology as well.

We will continue to work to improve those areas which were not up to your expectations. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

Please let me know if and when you do plan to return so that I can make sure you get a room with a river view as you perfer.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed at many Residence Inns and was very disappointed in this one. I don't know if some rooms are nicer than others, but ours was straight out of the early 80's. It was clean, but the beds were uncomfortable, the bathroom flooring was loose (possibly rotting underneath?) the bedding and shower curtains were a wrinkled mess. The air conditioning blew cigarette smoke in all night. We usually eat the breakfast but skipped it this visit and went to McDonald's. Just ready to get out of this place. A remodel would do wonders. It has a great location and the staff was exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan T, Property Coordinator at Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced recently at our property.

I have addressed your concerns with the General Manager, who has asked me to extend her apology for the condition of the rooms. I havce addressed this issue with the appropriate managers, to ensure that hey strive to provide the high standard of service that is required of a Marriott property. We will continure to work to improve those areas which were not up to your expectations. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

And again, please accept my apology for your experience. We would love to try and regain your loyalty so if you are ever in the area please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center

Address: 1701 South University Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76107 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 101 Hotels in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from TCU, the Fort Worth Zoo and the fun and excitement of The Stockyards, our hotel puts guests in an excellent location for enjoying Fort Worth, Texas. Guests can take advantage of our spacious extended stay suites featuring fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast, and after a long day relax in our outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza Hotel Fort Worth
Fort Worth Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham For Worth/Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.