We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimbell Art Museum

Kimbell Art Museum
3333 Camp Bowie Blvd., Fort Worth, TX 76107
817-332-8451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 178 things to do in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort Worth's premier art museum, featuring paintings from international painters.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Easy to navigate, child friendly, we have been here many times and never tire of the displays and gardens

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    104
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, PA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“One of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Since we were in Fort Worth for a conference of art teachers, the Kimball and the Museum of Modern Art were busy most days. We went to both on the closing day of the conference and the Kimball was still jammed. My wife teaches AP Art History and was impressed by what a "textbook" example the museum was. There is a little bit of all types of art work and good samples of many different periods and forms. The Bernini exhibit that the museum was currently hosting was first class and got me looking through my photo album at all the sculptures I had photographed when we were in Rome. She found that exhibit fascinating. Otherwise, although the gallery space is small, it is wide open and very accessible. I had talked with a teacher from Mississippi who had brought her class to these museums for a field trip. She was very impressed with the compact review of art history they provide.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small Museum Beautiful Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Pricey $18 tickets, see it after 5pm on some nights and play half price. Small galleries, great traveling collections.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mussoorie, India
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Small but mighty....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Kimball is deceiving in some respects because its so darn small, and half of its always a special exhibit.

This dichotomy is good and bad. Its good because the permanent collection is free. And you have to like free, but its small, that is the bad side, but flip back to the good and you have high quality 20th century masters, many big names as well as older western masters, and a great cross section of ancient, asian, and african artifacts. But its small so you won't OD on any one thing, and its not the dredges of the artists, but high quality work.

Much is made of the Michelangelo they have, and if you listen to some people they make it sounds like there is a collection of his work there, its one small piece from when he was in training, but its a lovely painting and a great piece to see if you are a fan of Micky B, but its not worth the trip in and of itself.

The other half of the museum is for paid shows. Again, not particularly large, but it is enough room to fully explore the theme at hand. Currently there is Bernini in clay. A treat and a rare insight into a marble master, since we get to see how his mind is working before delving into stone.

I saw a Carvaggio and his followers show that was amazing. For its size they bring in world class shows and its a lovely building.

The best news is they are expanding. I forget the details but they will be significantly larger in the future but don't know what that means as far as being free, or how much more of the collection they will be showing.

As a perk there are a number of other museums in the area in walking distance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small Museum with Great Works for Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a great museum, but the size of the collection is limited. The kids enjoyed with the tour and the hands-on activities during Spring Break.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimbell Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kimbell Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimbell Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.