We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the World's Best Museums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimbell Art Museum

Kimbell Art Museum
3333 Camp Bowie Blvd., Fort Worth, TX 76107
817-332-8451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 187 things to do in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort Worth's premier art museum, featuring paintings from international painters.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the World's Best Museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have lived and worked all over the country, including NYC, Phoenix and Houston. Of all the museums I enjoy, this one remains my favorite. It is of course, home to some of the worlds most interesting traveling exhibits, (The Chinese terra cotta soldiers was a thrill of a lifetime), but the permanent collections are treasures as well. But maybe it is the scale of the museum that works. I worked nearby for years, and it was a good break in the day to visit for just an hour at lunchtime. The collections are displayed in such a way that you can take small bites here and return for more some other time. If your time is limited in Fort Worth, this museum will give you the experience of a lifetime in a matter of minutes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    119
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kimbell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very interesting and educational. A bit on the snooty side but interesting. I think Ft. Worth has much better museums than this one.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been here many times & always enjoyed myself!
I always go to the special art showing like the art from Europe!
They have a good regular collection to see year round!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendon, Tx
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A bucket list museum...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a gem in the arts area of Ft. Worth. The Kimbell has had some fantastic exhibits over the years. Even w/o a special event the art viewing is truly world class. Make a point to visit this place when in town

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The KImball Art Museum is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Kimball has an awesome variety of some of the finest examples of art and relics from around the world. The medieval art works are fabulous. The masters paintings are first rate (nothing better at the Louvre!). The Oriental exhibit is top notch! This is an awesome exhibit of the best of the worlds best art works beautifully displayed. Very nice cafeteria also!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimbell Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kimbell Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimbell Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.