We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dress up fun and cattle drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District

Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District
131 E Exchange Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76106
817 624 4741
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Billy Bob's Texas Honky Tonk
Ranked #10 of 72 Attractions in Fort Worth
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, History Museums, Neighborhoods, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Malls, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, Dining, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to cowboys in addition to historic hotels and western-style shopping.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great dress up fun and cattle drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Twice a day you see volunteers wrangling cattle down the main street. Quite a few museums, but they cost, so be prepared.

Lots of touristy shops with touristy prices. BUT, you can get a pair of cowboy boots made specifically for you!!! Can't get that many places!!!

Bars line the streets, but one must see the building where they sell the cattle. It is free, and has pictures and memorablia of the area. We enjoyed thoroughly.

Dress the part!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    472
    120
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fun time at the Stockyards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is an interesting place to spend a day. Seeing the men dressed up like cowboys and the longhorns was fun for the kids. There are a lot of restaurants and stores to kill some time in. Around 4 pm they drove the long horns down the street for everyone to see. It was a fun time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“HIstory and Kitsch all in one place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visit the museum - very interesting and great local history. There are cow drives twice a day (11:30 and 4:00 p.m.) that will give you a chance to see a Longhorn up close and personal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to get a little piece of Texas history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our entire group (ages 2-44) loved the Stockyards. Even our 15 year old thought it was great. If you are into Texas history or cowboys you will really enjoy it. Lots of steakhouse (although pretty pricey) and great shops. We ate at the less expensive restaurants at the opening of the Stockyard shops and enjoyed our meals. The restaurants appear to be related (both located at main entrance); however, one has a much larger menu so take a peak before heading in. There was a Rodeo clown performing in that area as well. We went to the Wild Wild West show, which was ok. Sort of expensive for what we got. I think the Rodeo would be much better for the same cost. People were lining up for the 8 pm Rodeo while the Wild Wild West show was pretty empty. I would highly recommend going on a Friday-Sunday. We went on a Tuesday and it was a ghost town. They say the town is open which may be true but nothing in the town is. We went back on Friday and had a great experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
“We missed the cattle drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Stockyards is a neat area that has a lot of shops and restaurants.

There are two areas with free parking and one lot in which there is a fee. Depending on which direction you are coming from, you will need to ask to drive through the pay lot to get to the free parking lot.

When we visited the area, there was a fundraiser event with music and food. A maze that was on the TV Show "The Amazing Race" is available for the adventurous. A mechanical bull is also available to ride for a fee. A balloonologist makes balloon animals and hats for the kids. Horse Carriage rides are available for hire. There are a lot of gift shops in the area with typical trinkets, t-shirts, etc, for sale. There are also many different types of restaurants in the area, all of which were very busy as it was dinner time. We ended up eating at Cooper's Old Time Pit Bar-be-Que (see separate review).

There is a bed and breakfast in the area, along with a hotel an a Hyatt Park Place. I think it would be a great place to visit again and the next time I go, I will not miss the cattle drive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District also viewed

 

Been to Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.