We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Brush

Sage Brush
2003 West Dickenson, Fort Stockton, TX
432-336-8400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 33 Restaurants in Fort Stockton
Cuisines: American
Description: Our location is 2003 west Dickinson we are right next to subway we have a huge parking lot big enough for big rigs or Rvs to park
Restaurant details
Description: Our location is 2003 west Dickinson we are right next to subway we have a huge parking lot big enough for big rigs or Rvs to park
los angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

our young hostess/waitress was very nice and tried really hard to give us great service which she did. she was the only waitress working and did a great job taking care of six tables at one time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks Ranch, Tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's one of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went in for lunch, had a young woman from Ft. Stockton as our server, great personality, and great advice on the menu. She tells you what's "REALLY, REALLY, GOOD".
Laurie and I both had the "small" lunch portion chicken fried steak,
as they say, "small" is a relative term, yes, this is small compared to a whole steer.
The sides were excellent, especially the fried okra.
The place is a mom and pop kind of place, the kind you might see on "Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives".
Nothing called fancy, just solid good home cooking.
The Chicken fried was as tasty as any I've had, anywhere. I told the young lady, they should let Texas monthly know about that steak; every year the magazine rates the ones they consider, "best in Texas"; I've eaten at most of them, the Sagebrush is right up there with the very best.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place was recommended by the desk clerk at Quality Inn. She told us this restaurant was comparable to Cracker Barrel. Comparable like a Yugo is comparable to a Mercedes Benz.
We found the food to be very greasy, and not very tasty. My partner had to ask for another serving of fries because her original serving came stone cold. The replacement order was hot, but not cooked completely, and verg greasy and soggy.
All in all, we probably would not eat there again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossville, Indiana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Added to our favorites..............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have made overnight stops in Fort Stockton several times over the years, but have never settled on any favorite eating places. This was our first visit here and overall it was a pleasant experience. Nice clean quiet dining room, TVs with a football game on, but not blaring so loud that you couldn't visit. Our server was personable and the food was above average. We will definitely return here, but next time I am going to attempt to get them to finish cooking the potentially delicious fresh cut french fries served with the delicious catfish.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Safe Brush- very good to excellent food served by friendl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Family members from LA, Austin and Ft Stockton had chicken fried steak (A), chicken (A) and sea food (A-). Home made cobbler and pie (A+) yum! Prompt, friendly service. The cook asked after how everything was- said they always want to improve. Friendly staff. Owner Dallas worked for larger place before opening this nice cafe. We are returning for sure

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Brush also viewed

 
Fort Stockton, TX
 

Been to Sage Brush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Brush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.