We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok option in small town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dragon Buffet
3105 W Dickinson Blvd, Fort Stockton, TX 79735-4121
432-336-8886
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Fort Stockton, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok option in small town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I really enjoy good Chinese. This is not. Its just ok. But in a small toen its a good option. Normaly there are the typical choices like rice noodles beef broccoli sweet sour chicken ect...there's a dmall salad bar

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    8
    15
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Slim Pickens in Fort Stockton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

A typical, out-in the-middle-of-nowhere Chinese buffet. One of the only eateries open past nine pm and one of your only choices unless you want Mexican food. Edible and that's about it. One of the highlights was the ice cream buffet. Real ice cream! The other highlight was our super friendly, cute server, Nick. Despite the poor crowd and even poorer tips, he still had a smile on his face At 10 o'clock. Thanks, Nick! ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Quick lunch stop off I10 enroute to San Antonio 1/2/2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

long days drive from El Paso to San Antonio, stopped for lunch, it was a good stop! Trip Advisor had recommended and it was well worth it. Very reasonable chinese buffet is $7.80 on week days and $9.80 on weekends, in Fort stockton the only thing like this in town.

Everything looked really good and everything I had was good. the hot n sour soup was the highlight of my meal, along with the pistachio ice cream and coconut macaroons.

The buffet is good, food is fresh, varied and many selections: salad, peel and eat shrimp, 2 soups egg drop and hot and sour, egg roll, asian appetizers fruit, about 8-12 selections to chose from, chicken, beef, pork dishes, barbq on stick, many stir fried dishes, at least 7 or 8 cookies and cakes including moist coconut macaroons, and to top it all off, 8- 5 gallon containers of Blue Bell ice cream in the ice cream case, freezer including choc, vanilla, various fruit sherbets and fruit ice creams plus pistachio almond! Wow! This is all self serve.

The place was full, ladies, families, foreigners, workmen and area locals, folks know the value and frequent the buffet. Not a lover of buffets except for Indian food, I don't have a lot of experience however it filled it purpose and we moved on down the road.

Best wishes and enjoy! 2/2/2013

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton,Tx
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have ate here a few times and everytime the food was great.If they see some one using their use plate at the buffet,the wait staff will tell that person in so many words how wrong they are and everything they touch will be thrown away.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delivery Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Food is fresh, no msg and bonus that they will deliver to the local motels too. We went to the restaurant previously and the buffet is very well kept up and fresh, if small. Good selections, but they keep the quantities smaller in the trays and re-load them often to avoid the food getting stale/nasty. Sometimes this meant waiting a short time for some popular selections.

This time we ordered off the menu and had it delivered to our room. Service was quick and the food was hot. Portions were large and they nicely included two plates and extra napkins per our request.

We did the combo dinner for two at $19.95, but I suspect ordering two items off the menu would have been the same food and cheaper. The two entree items we ordered were $7-8 and while the 'dinner for two' included "free" crab rangoons, it did not include soup or anything else that you might expect in a dinner for two package. The fried shrimp was ok, but had more of a breading than a batter coating. Cocktail sauce, (not red sauce), was included and the sweet & sour sauce for our S&S pork was nicely delivered separately, rather than poured over the pork, so it was not soggy when we got it.

Worth going to again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Buffet also viewed

Fort Stockton, TX
Fort Stockton, TX
 
Fort Stockton, TX
 

Been to Dragon Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.