We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but not Green” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1537 North Highway 285, Fort Stockton, TX 79735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Fort Stockton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, but not Green”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The room was very clean, which was nice. However, we were appalled at all the waste generated in the breakfast room. There wasn't a single reusable item used: plastic cutlery, Styrofoam plates, bowls, and cups, all of it thrown away and none of it recycled. This amount of waste is not sustainable, especially if every LaQuinta and many hotel chains operate this way. How hard would it be to install a dishwasher and use real glasses, cutlery, and plates?

The staff were just average. The man working at the front desk couldn't give us a hotel recommendation, although he asked a co-worker for help. The restaurant recommended was closed that day--something you would think a local would know. There were two doors to the breakfast room, one of which was closed when we went in. When we left, the staff inexplicably told use to exit using the door that had been closed on our way in.

The wifi in the room was terrible. We could hardly get a signal at all. Perhaps it was better closer to the office, but the management needs to ensure that all rooms can get a good signal.

Lastly, I have a funny story to relate. When we arrived, we put our water bottles in the fridge to get cold for our onward journey the next day. It was nice having the fridge in the room. However, we we left, we forgot the water bottles. We turned around and went back to the hotel. I noticed one of the cleaning staff going into the room, so a ran over there and knocked on the door. No one answered, but noticing the door ajar, I opened it. A man's voice called out, "I'm in the bathroom," and I saw a hand reach out to close the bathroom door. I snuck in the room, grabbed the water bottles out of the fridge, and ran out of the room. We were back on the road in no time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the office probably have a better wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    43
    57
    31
    26
See reviews for
74
50
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not a lot of choices at this crossroads with our dog. LQ is very accommodating that way. I think the cost is outrageous for the quality, but, again, it's supply and demand. We got in late and left very early....bed, bathroom, decent. No smoke detector in our room, just wires hanging down.... maybe it beeped and a guest got frustrated. Who knows how long it had been like that...or still is? Staff is very good. Standard continental breakfast, but replenished frequently and very clean. Probably would stay here again if stuck in same circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here one day in early March. I have stayed here a year before and it took three tries before I could find one that was acceptable. So, I was expecting trouble from the beginning. However. Room was very clean. Breakfast was basic carbs, but great. Check in went very quickly.
I noticed a huge difference over last year. Found out it was under an new manager. That might be the difference?

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper. Pick a room on the back side. You might get freeway noise on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our visit was Feb. 28, 2013. Called while on the road, desk said there was only 1 room available, so we reserved. Arrived and checked in. Notice the mat in the bathtub was dirty so I picked it up only to discover it was nasty, nasty...the shampoo was used and the waste pail had hair inside...unacceptable!! No ice in the upstairs ice machine, tried to call front desk, no one answered. Went down to talk to the front desk, she was the only one there, on the phone at least 4 others trying to get a room, I watched several get rooms (when she told me on the phone none were available...hummm) imagine my suprise when she gave us another room.. Tried to call the manager & number on card was to a fax machine...hummm, girl at the desk said they knew that, and she thought it was funny...humm I didn't not. I usually LOVE LaQuinta's and go there many times, but NOT happy with this place at all. KEEP DRIVING plenty of options in Fort Stockton.

Room Tip: Not all LaQuinta's are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Stockton hotels

West, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a special coop meeting the next morning and was thrilled on the friendly desk clerk and extended small talk. Prices were reasonable and room was clean and quiet for a good night sleep?

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've stayed at a dozen different LaQunitas across the country and this was by far the worst experience. The drapes were half off the rods (we sell and install drapes so we rehung what we could but more repair is needed). The bedskirts did not fit the box springs - it was as if the bedskirts and sheets were for double size beds but the beds were queen size. The beds were comfortable. The towels were thin and the bathroom is tiny. I would not return to this property. Also lots of outside noise from the diesel trucks running. Plus we had a hard time opening the door handle - had to rotate it up and not down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton Hotel Fort Stockton
La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton Hotel
La Quinta Fort Stockton
Address: 1537 North Highway 285, Fort Stockton, TX 79735
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Stockton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Fort Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Fort Stockton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.