We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dining Experience in Tyler TX!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gus'

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gus'
16700 FM 2493 # 800, Gresham, Flint, TX 75762
903.534.3947
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Flint
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Texarkana,Texas
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Awesome Dining Experience in Tyler TX!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Gus' Mexican Restaurant was our destination restaurant while we were in Tyler, Texas this week on personal business. Although it is a little out of the way from all the other Tyler restaurants located on Broadway, it is well worth the trip. Even more so when I later found out that, but of course, the food at Gus' should be awesome since the owner, Gus Ramirez, has over 50 years experience in the Tyler restaurant business!

Both my brother and I were very pleased with our menu selections: Sampler Plate for me, and Carne Asada for him. The food was flavorful and generous! And did I mention that the chips were homemade and came with fresh warm salsa. We could have made a meal out of them alone. And a very big plus for us was that we were able to dine outside since it was such a pleasant day.

Our waitress, Patricia, was attentive and when she said that the margaritas were complimentary with the meal, I didn't believe her but it was true! What a pleasant surprise for my brother!

The restaurant is located in the back of the Gresham Shopping Center at 16700 FM 2493 (Old Jacksonville Road) in Suite 1800. It is very easy to find if you take the Texas Toll Road and exit at FM 2493!

Gus's Mexican Restaurant's business hours are: Monday - Thursday 11 am - 8:30 pm, Friday - Saturday 11 am - 9:30 pm. Closed Sundays

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My second time to eat here because of the great family reputation for Tex-Mex. Where to start? It took 55 minutes to get our food. No kidding... Food was average at best. It is better to go to Fresh and order tacos. No need to write any more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Free Margaritas & Awesome Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in on our way home- not expecting much but wow! The food is awesomely Tex-Mex and they have free margaritas! Everyone is very nice! I would suggest they put in a hostess station so guests don't feel so awkward walking in & wondering if they are to wait to be seated or sit where ever... but we will definately be back! Great location for anyone in Flint/Gresham/Bullard area- finally a nicely don't local restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our new favorite Mexican place in Tyler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

You have to try Gus'! The food is delicious. Fresh, homemade chips served with warm salsa that tastes so fresh! Everything we've ever tried here is wonderful. I love the chicken enchiladas with verde sauce, the fajitas, and the chile relleno! Did I mention that the owner walks around pouring FREE margaritas??? Yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad service - No service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Monday July 1, 2013 7:50pm. Restaurant hours posted on door showed closing at 8:30.
We entered front door and stood waiting for someone to greet us.
Waiter seated another couple who were waiting when we came in.
The same waiter came by us and changed the OPEN sign to CLOSED.
We still waited.
A little after 8:00 another lady came in the door. A woman approached her and greeted her and told her they were closed. They would not seat her. We asked: Us Too? She said Yes. So if they were not planning to seat us or serve us we left.
Rude and indifferent.
Why go back?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus' also viewed

 

Been to Gus'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.