We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Texas Panhandle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1912 South Dumas Ave, Dumas, TX 79029   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dumas
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great find in Texas Panhandle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times. The hotel is smoke-free, the rooms are new and attractive, and the staff is pleasant. The breakfast is just like the better LQ breakfasts and OK. Waffle pleased my husband. We ordered take-out food this time because there is almost nothing in Dumas and we just wanted to rest to get on the road the next day. Pizza Hut is close and very fast. It had rained the day we went there so we were pleased to get out of the scorching heat of the earlier part of the day and the day before, and it was pleasant to walk our dogs around the property and the adjoining properties. We will stay here again when we drive to CO.

Room Tip: All rooms seem about the same. I always ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    49
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
86
36
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troup, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We pass through Dumas frequently between East TX where we live on our way to visit our son in Denver. We have stayed overnight in many of the motels here. The LaQuinta is new, clean, and comfortable. The staff was helpful to all our needs. On our visit last week, we were hauling a boat and trailer. They helped us find a safe convenient place to park it on site. The pool area is outstanding and away from the rest of the motel facilities in a building of its own. Thus, guests are not bothered by splashing and screaming on the main level, but can conveniently use the pool and hot tub area if they desire. The business room and work out room support new equipment. The free breakfast was adequate and the breakfast room provided ample seating. This is a nice, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Friendly and helpfull staff. Great location right on the main road and near shopping with plenty of restaurants. Our room was absolutely spotless and very large. Comfortable beds. Small microwave and refrigerator in room. Sparkling indoor pool and hot tub. Great complimentary breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Will definitely use this hotel future. Clean with nice staff. Has Exercise room and indoor pool. Pets are free.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Clean, new, secure, pet friendly, decent price. The walls are a little thin, if your room is near the ice machine it will wake you up. If your travelling with pets and are looking for dinner when you stop for the night, get dinner before you unload. the only place that delivers in town is Pizza Hut.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I got wrangled into doing a 4 day stint in Cactus, Tx, just north of Dumas, and if I was going to be in cow country, I wanted a reputable, comfortable place to stay. I wasn't disappointed. This property appears to be newly constructed, and well maintained. The rooms were spacious, well laid out, and the bed was comfortable. I didn't have any problem with the staff, and I'm pretty sure I was waited on by the same employee mentioned in an earlier review. We all have bad days. Access to the property is very easy, and should you need provisions, there's a Wal-Mart across the highway. The breakfast bar had typical hotel fare, including a waffle station featuring an iron in the shape of Texas. Should your travels take you through Dumas, I recommend the La Quinta.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, breakfast was quite adequate but lacked protein, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool was really enjoyable after a hot trip across Texas. This hotel is right on the main highway through Dumas, yet is set far enough from the road that the rooms are very quiet. Air conditioning/heat is thermostatically controlled (a feature that often isn't found in better hotels) and also quiet. Wireless Internet access was spotty at times, but worked well enough to get my work done. Finally, the view across the prairie, watching a major storm come through, was awesome.
Dumas is now my new way point on drives to Denver. I have stayed in campgrounds, Amarillo hotels, and on into New Mexico, but this was a great place to come off the road. It's a 10 hour haul from North Houston, then 7 hours to Denver. Dumas itself has many advantages - easy in and out, no traffic, cheap gas, and good food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas

Address: 1912 South Dumas Ave, Dumas, TX 79029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dumas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dumas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Dumas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.