We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mt. Gainor Inn...the perfect place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Gainor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mt Gainor Inn to your Saves list
Mt Gainor Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2390 Prochnow Road, Dripping Springs, TX 78620   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
HOUSTON, TX
1 review
“Mt. Gainor Inn...the perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We spent a Saturday night in Mt. Gainor Inn. It was absolutely perfect! The location of the inn is just right if your looking for a restful break from the hectic work week. We actually saw deer on the road to the Inn.

The room was just wonderful. It had two fireplaces and the decor was just warm and homely.The warmth and friendliness of Laurie & Jerry, the owners, was absolutely a taste of true Texas hospitality.

If your looking for a break from the daily grin, then get to Mr. Gainor Inn and recharge.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    6
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and I spent 3 days/nights at Mt. Gainor Inn on our honeymoon. Laurie and Jerry were perfect hosts.... warm, friendly greeting; perfect accomodations; incredible breakfasts; and we felt like we were all alone at the Inn. We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds, seeing the horses and watching the great storm that passed by. The cabin was a perfect place to rest and begin our new life together!! We also enjoyed an in-room massage, arranged by Laurie. Incredible!!! Wonderful place to go... we will definitely go again!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Beautiful accomodations, great attention to detail, wonderful spa bathtub for two; delicious breakfasts, comfortable, clean beds with satin sheets; friendly inn keepers; beautiful grounds

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the Mt. Gainor Inn, south of Dripping Springs, Texas. The rooms are absolutely pristine -- even the fussiest guests would find the accomodations scrupulously clean. The beds are incredible and, combined with the utter peace and quiet of the remote Hill Country location you are guaranteed a great night's sleep. The WiFi works like a charm, making working on the deck a real pleasure!

Breakfast was wonderful - especially the french toast! -- and delivered right to the door of our private cabin. This cabin, with king sized bed, true two-person tub and rocking chair front porch would be absolutely perfect if only the bathroom offered a little more privacy . Otherwise, perfect! The innkeepers are available and hospitable, but never intrusive and they are really there to spoil you.

Our traveling companions stayed in the "main house" and were very pleased with their rooms, as well. Mt Gainor Inn isn't your typical B&B Inn -- it is very remote and has a true "farmhouse" feel but we found it the perfect Hill Country experience and we would definately stay there on our next visit to Austin.

  • Liked — Hill Country location; cleanliness; breakfast
  • Disliked — no privacy between bathroom and bedroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect when I selected this B&B, but I definitely made the right choice.

I stayed in the Garden Room, which was perfect for my needs. Everything was immaculately clean, and the bathroom was at the end of a long hall which was quirky but worked fine. The private deck was amazing, and I spent one whole morning passed out in a shady hammock.

WiFi connection was strong, and the entire property was amazingly quiet (almost too much so at times, but that's a whole other story).

The hosts were very friendly and accommodating, and breakfast was simply amazing each morning. As I was the only guest on property for the first few nights, they were flexible with my breakfast time, which was greatly appreciated (and something that is rare at B&B stays in my experience). I also ordered dinner the night I arrived so I wouldn't have to hunt for food after a long day of travel, and I'm so pleased I did. For less than $20, I got pecan-crusted trout with wild rice and a fresh salad, with a half bottle of wine thrown in. After that I savored sitting in the huge hot tub.

All in all a great place to stay, and after I saw where some of my friends stayed in the area, I'm confident in saying this is a top choice for the Dripping Springs/Wimberley area.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed at Mt. Gainor Inn for our 26th wedding anniversay. The folks that own this bed and breakfast made us feel right at home. My husband surprised me with yellow roses, a massage that came to the room and a candle light dinner under the stars. The owners helped him keep this as a surprise for me and boy was I surprised. The breakfasts and the candle light dinner was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend this place as a romantic get away.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al-Khobar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week-end at the Mt. Gainor Inn and would recommend it to anyone.
Jerry met us on our arrival and gave us the 'grand tour' of the Inn, which is a restored 100 year old farmhouse. Laurie and Jerry have done most of the work themselves and they have every reason to be proud of their accomplishments. The Inn is decorated with antiques and comfy furniture which makes the whole experience very relaxing.
We stayed in the Attic Suite which meant we had the entire top floor to ourselves. There was a living room with an eating area and kitchen, as well as a seperate bedroom and bath. This worked out really well in case someone got up earlier so the other person wouldn't be disturbed. (The bed was extremely comfortable! And, for those who need to know, the wi-fi worked very well.) A nice feature of staying in the Attic is that breakfast is delivered to you, and on both mornings we were served something unique and delicious. Another nice touch was the birthday cake they left for us as a surprise. (if you go order the chocolate covered strawberries Laurie makes-YUMMY!)
Finally, outside our door we had a deck with a table and chairs. This was a great place to kick back and watch the night sky fill up with bright stars-awesome.
Because this was our first time at a B&B we weren't sure just how things were going to work out. But within a few minutes of meeting Jerry and Laurie and getting into the laid back mode, we realized this is one of those places where we'll be returning to and "kicking back" while watching the cyclists pedal down the country road out front.
Laurie and Jerry were great hosts and always available if needed, but they ensured to give us all the privacy we wanted as well. They have spent alot of time and energy into making Mt. Gainor a truly great experience for their guests and we appreciated everything.
Thanks ya'll and we'll see ya next home leave!
Traci and Steve
Texans living in Saudi Arabia

  • Liked — The rooms and the owners!
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Gainor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gainor Inn

Address: 2390 Prochnow Road, Dripping Springs, TX 78620
Location: United States > Texas > Dripping Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dripping Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Gainor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I felt like I was floating..it was so quiet, I felt my whole body relaxed and time stood still... MT GAINOR INN is an enchanting 100 year old farm house resting high on a hill with relaxing 360 degree hill country views. We invite you to take a break for a quiet intimate get away from the city or a gathering of friends and family. We specalize in women's retreats and welcome Scrap Booking, Quilting Groups, Cycling clubs, social or business gatherings and Wimberley Market Day treckers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mt Gainor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Gainor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.